I love my Puppa-Roo. I mean love love her. Even the days when I don't like her, I still love her.  It's easy. She snuggles sweetly and is completely dependent on my whims to survive. Somedays she gets overachieving über-momma, somedays not so much. My Sushi Goose? She's another story. I know she at least likes me-most of the time- despite what BFF says. And that when she wants lovin' she gets it from me; as long as there's a Claritin nearby.  It's easy to love a fluffy kitty who wants to purr with me occassionaly.  Then there's my Momma; easiest person to love ever. Her sense of humour and unwavering support keeps her in the top 3 of easiest things to love.  #4 being ice cream sandwiches and #5 swimming pools. The rest of us seem to make it so hard for each other. 

  Somedays you hate the people you're supposed love the most. Okay, okay, hate is a strong word. And I don't hate them; I hate animal cruelty, thong undies and smog. I just really, really don't like the way we treat the people we say we  love.  These are the people who are supposed to know you best and sadly the ones who let us down the hardest. These people know our weaknesses and stories from our past. They know the mistakes we've made.  But those same loved ones are the worst people to us, and we are to the worst right back.

  For example I am meanest to my Hubby, not often, but he takes the brunt of a bad day or my wrath if I'm hangry.  By marrying me he made a decision:  I agree to this level of mean and I don't mind dealing with her temperament. But sometimes I'm not easy to love.  I get soo snappy until he looses his mind and snaps back, then I cry. But I love him. I love-love him.  I laugh harder with him than anyone else. He's one of the funniest people I know and I hang out with a lot of comedians. Sometimes I am hard on my Bro who doesn't always deserve it, but needs to hear it anyways. I get frustrated with my Papa B who knows the only person he can change is himself.  I know he knows this, because he taught me.  All we can do Papa B is hold out hope that our change inspires change in others. 

   I wanna love these people everyday, why do I have to fight so hard for it?  But that's on me.  If I apply the philosophy of my daily practice to loved ones I should be thanking the sun for peeking through, instead of cursing the rain clouds.  But it's easier said than done. Each one of these people acts as though there will be more time, time for forgiveness, ease and love but always saving it for later. I'll tell you what there isn't a lot of- time.  Instead of fighting so hard we could be spending all this wasted time together. Celebrating how we've all managed to get this far. And for the most part without an epic fail. We are so lucky to get this time to spend together. But we're not going to take advantage of it are we? We're gonna to hide behind our snappy remarks and our old grudges and stubborn personality traits.   I know that I can get over my hurt feelings and frustration, but I am scared that by then the cat will be in the cradle with the silver spoon and it will be too late.  By all accounts I think it's time I say 'I'm sorry. Things haven't always been easy, and Roddammit, you make me crazy but I love you anyways' was that so hard to say? I want to tell you now, because you deserve to hear it.

  Love is an easy thing to give. All you need to love someone is the courage and will to do so. While forgiveness is something those closet to you may have the most trouble asking for.  Loved ones be loved, even though I wonder why sometimes we make it so hard. Sigh. Life and love would be so much easier if we had furry tails and our only worry was 'when do we eat?'




Leave a Reply.