Unless you've been living under a rock the last month you've probably heard about the strange behaviour of one particular 'merican fast food chain.  And I say strange because it's not something I would associate with chicken.  You say chicken, I say fingers. You say gay marriage, I say chicken burger... nope one of those things is not like the other.

  Having grown up in an artistic community, I know about the fabulous gays.  And going to a theatre school meant I knew most of my classmates were gay before they wanted to tell anybody. But I love them and not because they're gay, but because they're wicked.  On the religious front, growing up amongst the United Christian folk, I was taught that everyone is equal and deserves love, no matter what.  A puppy murderer, a Disney villain and me: we all deserve love. The greatest of these gifts is love.  I guess the problem I have is, didn't anyone tell this "Christian" restaurant that it's not nice to be bigots?

  In a time when there is so much prejudice, why would a self-proclaimed community leader want to lead anyone astray?  Who gave chicken the divine right to pick who to love?  Or marry?  Or even who can get married?  What's love got to do with a marinated filet, other than being a typically dry dinner choice at a convention centre wedding, obviously.  Let's try this again: you say gay marriage, I say "hells ya!".  Now, that's more like it.

  I know it's hard to be judged, but why should a dick-head chicken place have any opinion about marriage - gay, straight or otherwise?  My Momma taught me that people who don't like you, aren't  worth your time.  Chick-fil-A obviously has their priorities bocked.  Considering more than 50% of marriages end in divorce, why would we think that gay marriage could make those numbers different?  Plus, if anyone knows how to throw a great wedding it's the gays.  I mean, look at how many top shelf planners they have!  In the end, I think if Chick-fil-A had their way, we'd all be fat, stupid, judgemental, narrow minded morons.  But wait!  They already are.  As for me, I will dance the chicken dance at any celebration of love and marriage, as long as there's a vegetarian option.




Leave a Reply.