This next story is a secret, so I changed the names, the location and everything but myself.

  Once upon a time there was a background performer named Melicious.  I work on film sets, commercials and tv shows.  Though I am just a measly little extra, I am determined to make every experience on set a good one.  So I pitch in, tidying wardrobe and fixing hair.  Desiring each project to be as great as it can be.  Sometimes, I meet famous people. National figures, actors, musicians and directors- cool people.  Sometimes, I get to spend time with them face to face and when that's the case it's very close.  (For those of you who don't know a whole lot about the film world, there is usually 10 people on set at any given time; say a wardrobe person, 5 lighting guys, hair and make up, assistant directors etc, to help keep shooting on time and looking good) This past weekend little Melicious was working with a very special woman- to remain nameless (as I signed a confidentiality agreement, not because I am not dying to tell you who it is) as I sit across the cafe table from her I notice a hair on her blouse.  It's a white blouse and a black hair, so I make the international sign for "Hey you've got a little something- right there" which she doesn't understand and asks me to "get it", so I do with a sweeping gesture.  Happy with myself I sit back down to get this scene in the can (film term for finished). Action! The director starts calling out directions on how she says things, how fast she says it, where the emphasis should be....ad nauseum.  As we are shooting, she turns her head and I see a hair sticking off of her lower left cheek. Oh no! A black hair stuck to a light face. A black hair- dancing in the oscillating fan's breeze, taunting me...The director finally yells Cut and I make another gesture "Hey, there is a giant black hair stuck to your lower cheek, it's right there...Please get it!" to which again she doesn't understand and gestures for me to get it.  So I do. It's attached*insert rueful head shake
.  This giant black 2 inch cheek hair has been attached to her face all day. They have been shooting since 6:30 am and it's now the last scene of the day and I am the first to discover this? You gotta be kidding, the hair person didn't see it? The makeup person didn't see it? The camera operator? The 10 people staring at the monitor DIDN'T see it? WTF! Holy Miley- you gotta be kidding.  Me! Melicious, I am the one who tries to prune this Super high profile woman's face fern?  It's not in my job description and we both know it, and now I have to sit here, for the rest of the day knowing that I tried to pull a hair off her face and it's still there. That taunting SOB, Roddamn it! It's hard to lower your profile, once you've become the failed face plucker. Sad, stupid little extra- keep your hands to yourself!

   So that's my true, but unprovable story.  I think it is finally time that I take my Hubby's advice: Stop plucking people's hairs- ear, cheek or nose.  And I've tried but I just can't.  It is a horrible addiction.  And I mean honestly, wouldn't you rather know that you have a column of hair growing from your face? The one part of you that is literally facing forward? How are we going to think you can take care of anything... if you can't take care of your follicle farce?
Mary Lloyd
4/2/2012 01:49:17 am

OMG.. I laughed again! Terrible habit to have... wonder where it came from?

Reply
MeliciousMona
4/2/2012 11:27:12 pm

I would love to get to the core of this issue.

Reply
Sheri Franklin
4/2/2012 07:33:43 pm

Yup...picker's, plucker's unite!! I think we could form a support group. No. Really. Love ya M. xoxo

Reply



Leave a Reply.