My new uke arrived in the mail on Monday. Well, arrived isn't the right word.  I mean I picked it up from the 7/11 mail depot in the world's biggest box and carried it all the way down from Dundas on Monday, Monday. Just another manic Monday. Unpacking this giant box, removing layers of paper and 2 subsequently smaller boxes- I finally unveiled her.  And I played that pretty lady all day. Played it 'til my fingers bled, if this were the summer of '65.  I strummed and loved that Big Lady. Problem is I am undecided on what to name my new uke.  Her older-way older and stubborn sister's name is Betty, pretty little antique Betty.  Stubborn pegs not gripping the strings; going out of tune every song; Betty.   The two names I have been tossing around are the Big Lady or Baby Belle. So for now, until I decide I will use both:) 

     Hubby and I have been playing Faque Band (Fake Band) since Rockband came out on X-box 360.  Though since I started learning a real instrument we're jamming like a real Faque Band.  Hubby plays the guitar and sings, but he always Garfunkles me.  I want to be Garfunkle.  Can both of us be Garfunkle? He should be Paul, I mean that's obvious. C'mon Garfunkle and Garfunkle sounds like a law firm that only deals with clerical errors.  That's something we'll have to work out.

   When beautiful Baby Belle arrived I started dreaming about the awesome sauce family band Hubby and I could build- but it seems like it should be an audition process more so than a birthing process. We would be looking for children who could conceivably be our children, but we're far too young to actually have naturally. A la Brady bunch Partridge bus.  We need a bassist and pianist and violin/fiddle.  Children must be self-sufficient and capable of taking care of themselves, preparing meals and cleaning the tour bus etc.  Birth-parents must relinquish all rights to family photos and "memories" as they have now become part of the Unnamed Family Band paraphernalia for fan clubs members and 8 special  collectors editions commemorative glasses available from your local gas station.  Please submit your child in the comment section below; attach a photo, resume and reel if possible:)

  With this unnamed family band dynasty goes the woes of what should our first album be called? Should we self-title, perhaps we should use an inside family band joke?  What is the thought process that goes into picking your album cover art?  Can you imagine the pitch session?  Would it be my job as the performer to come up with the idea?  Or is it an uncreative studio exec with branding expertise...?Should it be a cartoon? Real life shot? Sexy photo? Serious musicians with instruments in hand? Hiding half covered face or faces shrouded in shadow? Colour or black and white? Just a landscape? A shot taken by a band member with photography enthusiasm.  What image best suits this sound. The pairing of an image with a sound.  These are all very difficult decisions.  Wow, it's hard to play Unnamed Family Faque Band and hold down a non-paying job as a bloggist.  I tell you, I might have a slight addiction to being a Jack of all Trades.  But can I help it if I am sorta good at everything...?
Chelsea
5/16/2012 01:51:30 am

cool! post a pic. instruments drive me wild. especially ukes. they're like puppies.

Reply
Momma
5/16/2012 02:56:31 am

Family band in the making?? keep up the good work...

Reply
Other Momma
5/16/2012 03:11:17 am

Enjoy your new juke.

Reply
Amber
5/17/2012 01:06:34 am

Summer of '65?!?! You're not serious. Even if you are, I'm going to pretend you're joking. ;)

Reply



Leave a Reply.