Dude! That's my daughter you're teaching!  Urgh Girl, you drive me crazy. No- legit- you're driving me crazy.  As a digital society I think we've forgotten how we affect the world around us.  Influence is a very important word.  Everything is influenced by something. Where you live influences what you wear. The weather, economy and social climate these are all factors. The kennel club's best in show rating influences next year's popular dog breed. Movies, music and social icons influence life and style.  Anyone who knows me knows I am a woman of class. Emphasis on lass. Some might even go so far as call me a prude and I wouldn't argue.  I tend to take the high road when approaching delicate situations. My influences include my Momma, G'Ma Far, Marilyn Monroe, BFF and Rita Hayworth.  These are all ladies of mystery and dignity. Perhaps they didn't always make the best choices but even when things got crazy, they live or lived life with pride, humility and bravery.
 

  But where are we now? On a daily basis I am surprised with the disinterest and disrespect we have. The blatant disregard, thinking only of ourselves, and not about the influence we have on others and the little eyes watching us.  The public people influencing our young'uns are starting to raise some serious concerns.   What kind of influence are they getting wasted and starting Shore-line fights? Or cheating on their significant other in the Twilight to lengthen their career.  Or attacking each other with messy public divorces and cruel Suri-eal custody battles that amount to a greedy grabbing of dollars and no sense.  With zero ramifications their actions are running rampant and highly publicized in our media. Easily influencing the teen-angst 'FB Like me's' begging for 50 thumbs up, while in the same post admitting it's for selfish silly reasons. These same teens hoping to be plucked from their 'meaningless' lives and thrust into the prying public eye for taking a photo of their dog sleeping.  Starting each data day with hope that it will be the day they rule the viral world.  They are under the influence of those drunken examples and being led astray.

  Adulation without achievement. Where's the dignity in that? Social status without talent or virtue.  When I was growing up we celebrated people for accomplishing something. For raising awareness. For making a difference. For creating something beautiful. It is my hope that with all the influence we have, we will start influencing change.  We can use our influence for good. Changing how our 'Like me' teens see us and how they want to see themselves. I am ready to be treated with dignity, bravery and humility. Who wouldn't like to be under this influence?
Not the Momma
8/28/2012 11:24:23 pm

Well said! Two 'thumbs' up.

Reply
momma
8/28/2012 11:35:43 pm

Looking for good leaders can be a challenge - you are becoming one!

Reply



Leave a Reply.