There is a group of people who shine.  They've got that certain something.  That intangible spark.  The X Factor.  The Voice. They are a gangplank walking, chicken skin giving group.  Overflowing with that very special something that sets them apart from the herd.  The unique flare; a thing that people want to look at, talk about, dream about, drool over, wonder at, remember and cry over.  It's hard to describe what makes a person a superstar, but I am willing to bet, it has something to do with three easily identifiable markers. And the unlikely combination created within that Shinning star.  Creating a chemical reaction worth watching.

    Talent- These are the people you can't stop watching.  The people who sing the doors off-  Whitney, Celine.  Or the way Ansel Adams can make you feel thirsty.  In this group we have dancers, writers, actors.  Daniel Day's dedication to lifestyle immersion. They are the fireworks.  They burn so beautifully bright.  Typically they burn hard and fast.  Streaking across the sky.  Just catching them in the corner of your eye is lucky.

    Confidence- Maybe it's the Cee Lo Green variety.  Perhaps it's the confidence that Christina has in those mini skirts.  It's that strut the angels have when they're telling secrets.  The way a lead singer makes eyes at the camera.  It's the stance. The swagger.  It's shivering and sparkling.  All the Bam Bam, all deliciously wrapped with a tiny little bow.

    Personality-  It's the distinctive late night gap toothed laugh.  Then it's about creating a catch phrase.  It's Farah Fawcett's blonde fringe.  Monroe and Chaplin with their distinctive walks.  Andy Warhol painting an iconic eye.  The breathy vulnerability heard from the blues. It's the devil in their eyes.  Unexpected punchlines.  The suspenders and heart shaped glasses.  It's a big floppy straw hat and pink boots.

  The things that make you go boom.  As a performer I fall into 1.75 of these categories.  My personality is a solid 8.5, my confidence hovers between 6-8 and my talent varies greatly from passing to fancy.  It plays into my favour that I am tenacious with a side of lazy. The good news is I am starting to know where I am going as a clear destination.  I won't stop, cuz I can't stop.  I am figuring out what it takes to make myself someone that  burns brightly.  A show must go on type of girl.  I am on the road to giving goose flesh.  They say knowledge is power and I am learning quite a bit about this crazy place and this even crazier business.  But I don't think I'll ever stop lookin' at the stars.   
Hubby
11/21/2012 01:40:24 am

You're MY star with the IT factor that's the shiniest! Xo.

Reply



Leave a Reply.