Growing up I was taught that you are only as good as your word, but it seems like the world has forgotten the value. I have been an entrepreneur since before it was fashionable. Always striving for my work to reflect who I am. My corporate motto is 'The way we wish the world to be is how we are.' Things have changed. In this dog eat dog business world I am being eaten alive.

It would never cross my mind to double cross, back stab or devalue the services of others. As an entrepreneur our economic value is directly associated with who we are. It's a tough place to be. Stuck between providing the best service possible and growing the baby business. The entrepreneur is at the mercy of those who represent our name. And people decide that the power of one- themselves- is more important than the big picture- my poor little defenseless company. I am all for the advancement of the organization. Profitability is important to all businesses. Though I would never put progress before the individual. It is my hope that being a good boss, business owner and in most cases friend I will be taken into account when the individual is making decisions. It will never cease to amaze me how selfishness can defeat even the most optimistic mandate. Delivering the entrepreneur into dicey and unpleasant situations.

My entrepreneurial endeavors may never be Fortune 500 caliber, but I would love to know that my business is represented with dignity and poise, no matter the situation. Integrity is the only value we should hold above all else. Who you are and what you do are two different things. A person will never be their job. No matter how much you may want it to be. But how you bark when the big dog comes to town does define you. Being a small dog is not shameful, but peeing on the carpet and blaming it on the cat is. So people, I ask you, what is your integrity worth. And who are you selling it to? Cuz you're never going to get the reward you hoped. As for this entrepreneur, I will keep being a medium sized dog in a big ring jumping through hoops, happily accepting my treats for a job well done. Bow wow bad dogs! Watch out for rabies. Cuz this old dog has learned a few new tricks and won't be blamed unless she did pee on the rug. Which sometimes can't be helped.



Leave a Reply.