Weekends suddenly make sense to me.  I have been living day to day. Jumping from gig to gig for the past 5 years.  Without a steady job- other than this...  So, the weekend never meant that much to me.  It was just 2 more days of the week that I could be working or waiting for the work to call or sweating that it had been 3 days since I worked, etc ad nauseum.  But when you're booked into a steady Mon to Friday work week; the weekend is two days off. Back to back, days where I am my own boss.  Not worried about when my next job is coming. It's coming Monday. Those 2 days are allocated to my whim.  And with this my first Free Weekend I learned the following things in no particular order.

1.      The Horseshoe Tavern is Toronto's best music venue- especially if the band has a fiddle

2.      Bone marrow, horse meat and cow tongue taste amazing if the chef knows how to do it right
3.      Free beer is the best beer
4.      A DJ playing to an empty room doesn't take requests
5.      My bike needs a softer seat
6.      A rare book doesn't have to be old but it helps
7.      Law schools are designed to inspire greatness in their students
8.      Sundays are designed for Mommas
9.      My Puppa loves me more when I smell like bacon poutine
10.    Scotland has born some pretty wicked people
11.    Lucy doesn't want to play the game "look I’m a pirate and she's a parrot" while standing out on my shoulder
12.    Bye, bye Birdie is wicked- this I already knew but it’s important to be reminded
13.    Baby Belle won't play herself and I need to practice
14.    Coffee in Paris is cheaper at the bar than at a table
15.    New shoes make me feel great and guilty
16.    A change of facial and body cream are a gateway to better cheeks; which means better smiling
17.    Sunshiney weather brings out my freckles
18.    My bike basket is not an acceptable handbag
19.    Most people yelling in the streets aren't talking to me
20.    Queen St though busier is better than Dundas for now
21.    Having reliable people around means you breath better
22.    Having a slogan on your shirt; allows people to stare at your chesticles
23.    Being dressed up and looking good with someone you love is better than being in comfys alone
24.    Having a BFF who is pretty helps to see the beautiful things around you
25.    A spring breeze is best when blowing through the new spring leaves
26.    I will never stop loving Jelly shoes
27.    Rose water smells amazing on me 
28.    Whenever you get something you actually need. When you get home you'll find you needed 2 of them
29.    Freddie Mercury still rocks
30.    Stopping to smell the flowers sometimes means actually stopping to smell the flowers
31.    Painting your toenails navy; encourages one to hum the Village People

    I know, I know these aren’t shocking and amazing revelations, but it sounds to me like I had a pretty informative weekend.  I just wish that I was taking a weekend from this- and getting paid again Today :) Ah the dream!  Happy Monday to all you daily grinders, and Happy non-specific day of any generic work week to all you freelancers. 




Leave a Reply.