After taking 2 very long weeks off for this special time of year.  I realized there were a few things I learned. So I thought y'all might benefit from learning yourselves.

Things I learned on Winter Holidays:

1. When my parents got a new dog I suffered from a severe case of sibling rivalry.

2. December is the month I decide to ruin myself, then I spend 8 months after that in a remorseful comatose of self loathing and depression.

3. As soon as I do not have to blog I have a bazillion great ideas.

4. Despite my objections- I did in fact want something sparkly for Christmas.

5. Not having an outburst outlet, means I burst out.

6. I miss making up inside jokes.

7. A New Year's resolution may start a few days late cuz you have left overs from Christmas that would be a shame to waste.

8. I am easily convinced that sitting around eating bon-bons is hard work.

9. A box of Ferreros that costs $5.99 seems appropriate to eat in one sitting.

10. Window shopping is recommended while wrapped in winter layers. Otherwise anticipate breaking a pig in a blanket sweat.

11. A musical revolution over 200 years old can still bring me to tears.

12. January is a strange month for weather and behaviour.

13. There should be a special Oscar category for CGI or motion capture actors & tigers

14. Family is a bountiful source for blog fodder.

15. I really like spending time with Jilly. She's truly the bestest tinker.

16. My trio's tradition of doing mini Christmas before we part for the season is a great way to ease into the holiday hubbub and bally-hoo!

17. There's something special about a new snow fall, especially the white fluffy floaty ones.

18. There are worse people I could be than myself.

19. Turkey+time =toots

20. Keeping a New Year's resolution is tough if you don't really want to.

21. Pig is a delicious animal.

22. Being a meat eater is not for me. how can I love one and eat the other?

23. Christmas carols late at night on Christmas Eve in the church I grew up in makes me cry, then laugh until I start crying again.

24. I am lucky to love my family as much as I do.

25. Even though Hubby says he only likes black athletic socks, a new pair of purple argyles really bring out his personality.

26. People should stop bullying Justin Bieber, he's a good boy.

27. Being the loudest person in the room means I should probably try listening.

28. I can still remember all the dirty/made up lyrics for most of my fav childhood Xmas songs.

29. I enjoy being happy and jolly. But other people tend to be annoyed/overwhelmed/intimidated by the level of my enthusiasm.

30. A Christmas threat becomes empty if you beg your Momma for the 90 piece nativity set and ceramic tree.

31. My favourite parts of returning to work after the holidays are the hugs and New Year's well wishes. I would like that type of reception all the live long year.

   This is not the entire list, but I worry that too many lists that are too long- can wear out my welcome- and I want to be welcomed until my next holiday:) Here's to you and yours! I hope you had the most magical of Christmas times. I hope that Santa was good to you! And that all your New Year's resolutions are on track. Or at least at the train station.



Leave a Reply.