It has been so long since I've had a vacation... a really real vacation.  I have gone on trips to my parents, day trips down or up to the beach and hung out in Montreal.  But I haven't had 2 weeks solid of days and nights off...With no strings attached and a few bonus days with Hubby gone up north. I really woke myself up! And I learned quite a bit. 

1. Putting a ribbon on something doesn't make it a gift.

2. No plan-plans are the easiest and most satisfying plans to attend.

3. Anything is appropriate wardrobe if it's THAT hot out.

4. Buns are great if I wanna look like a ballerina without an eating disorder.

5. Lucy positions herself so that as I pet her the fan blows her loose hair back in my face. She's tricky like that.


6. I remembered how to scream. But once
 you've lost your voice it won't come back if you keep screaming.

7. Not every selfless act is free.

8. Taking a gamble with thirty percent chance of thunderstorms is like betting against the dealer.

9. Kids are cute until they make that face and explode from both ends.

10. Jogging when the humid ex is high is like trying to breath underwater.

11. James Bond is hot. And if Beckham were James Bond there would be way more kicking.

12. Obsession is something most people should keep to themselves. Or limit to 2 hours per visit.

13. Don't start a conversation with the Commissioner unless you're prepared to be thoroughly tongue lashed for your insolence.

14. Cuban food rocks.

15. BFFs exist for all the great-big-fun and fabulous reasons.

16. Peeing in the pool is acceptable if you're laughing that hard.

17. Karaoke is supposed to be songs everyone knows. Singing- scratch that- screaming along is part of the fun.

18. If your Hubby recognizes the smell of your fart, he'll sell you out; just to make friends.

19. White wine can make you fell like falling or like flying depending on the region of the grapes. 

20. A drive-in is the perfect place for 2 girls to talk through a movie.

21. Puppa will always wait until you're close enough to benefit from a good shake.

22. Drunk men will try and proposition you because you have a dog.  Having a dog means having a place nearby; so they don't have to drive back home to Kitchener.

23. Sometimes the most interesting looking people talk about some lame stuff.  (ie: Egg salad or bandanas)

24. I want to ride the boat around the channel past the drive-in. I don't know what it's called or who owns it, or if they even take passengers, but I want to.

25. I forgot how much I loved high kicking.

26. Jilly doesn't stomp at me when she's hungry, she just stares and puppy sighs as though I should just get it, because I am her Momma.

27. Being a single Puppy-Momma isn't hard if you have a part-time nanny.

28. Slumber parties rock.

29.  I can sweat while eating brunch, so that when I get up the pool drips down the back of my dress and puddles on to the seat. 

30. Caribana is not as loud in a backyard swimming pool.

31. Meat is not my friend. Unless it's still alive, in which case I will pet it and we will become friends.

32.  My Hubby isn't happy with only boys around, but the way he smells I don't think girls would be happy around him either.

33. The 4 storey hole in my backyard is a muddy and green pond...which is kinda Zen.

34.  There is a family of 3 mini-city bred skunks lurking in my neighbourhood. There is a turf war brewing.

35. The barometer is a tool of torture.

36. Pickle sandwiches don't exist for a reason.

37.  You can get  2 weeks out of a pedicure if you walk on sand.  

38. The Olympics aren't fun until we get to the medal rounds; just like every other sporting event.

39.  Lemon juice is not a hair product, it's an urban wives tale.  Just like not being able to swim at Toronto beaches.

40. Roller coasters are a great source of tension.  There should be more movies about them, though I imagine they'd be shorts.

41.  My Baby Belle sounds better singing happy tunes, and happiest while playing the Disney library.

42.  It's easier to encapsulate and optimize your time in the city- the close proximity allows for entertainment leap frogging.  

43. Secret codes are hard to explain but helpful to have... Even if you're the only one who knows it.

44.  Little Red Riding hood is a very clever little girl. But not every babysitter gets fridge privileges.

45.  Music can come from anywhere, but that doesn't make it all good.

46. My arms tan, my chest tans, my stomach burns and my legs get patchy. 

47.  A facial can take 2 weeks to heal, and even then is still working hard.

48.  My Puppa sleeps as close to me as possible, even if there is tonnes of room in bed.

49.  Creating a cartoon series is harder than it looks. 

50. Spending a rainy day watching an entire season on Netflix is worth the $7 a month.

51. Picking it just makes it worse.

   By the time you relax, you're vacation is over.  Which is sad- but I gotta say I was missing you.  You know, missing this, US<3 and I am glad to have it back, though I do wish I was still floating around a pool or getting macro-dermabrasion at the beach, or bbqing with my Besties in the backyard... But maybe, just maybe, if I work hard and try hard and hope, I can still do it on the weekends... Oh right, weekends are for doing what you want... Silly me. And I will keep doing it, you can bet on that. Welcome back and happy Tuesday of the August long weekend. I am glad to see ya!

momma
8/6/2012 10:21:28 pm

Glad you had so much fun/rest on your time off.

Reply
BFF
8/7/2012 04:13:52 pm

How many comments am I allowed to make?

Reply
8/7/2012 08:01:36 pm

As many as you want, unless they start affecting my server capacity:)

Reply



Leave a Reply.