My Parents have done a great job of keeping me off the pole, until now.   I was taught that the reputation is a lifetime to build and a moment to destroy.  The road to a bad reputation is a quick and slippery one.  But it can also be athletic, sweaty and a lot of fun.  

Things I learned about pole dancing

1. Wedding rings and brass rails are natural enemies

2. The pole is slippery, wide and wet

3. The pole burns with the friction of a thousand suns

4. Just when you think you're spinning too fast you get stuck

5. Whiplash can be caused by an almost kinda sexy hair toss

6. Sexy arms are way harder than they look

7. It helps your dancing to keep your high heels on

8. Doing the robot isn't sexy 

9. Either the boobs lead or the butt leads but never both

10. Leg warmers are cute and functional

11. Big steps=feet too far apart

12. Move slowly, at least then you don't have to fake as much sexy time

13. Watch your high kicks

13a. Watch where you're aiming those not so high kicks- they reach your classmate no prob

14. Poise-ture: it's an attitude thing

15. A smile distracts the watcher, even if you're wrapped around the pole like an origami snake

16. Furrowed brows aren't hot

17. I was tempted to have a Flashdance style ending to class- but the bucket of water is tough to rig and slippery to continue dancing

18. Public groping, short shorts and gyrating are encouraged but not automatic

19. Climbing the brass rail is new recruit hazing

20. Striptease class isn't about sex, it's about confidence

21. Bruises are expected and celebrated by these tough tight ladies

22. Six inches are starter heels

23.  My body is sore and I love it. 
   

   I may not be ready for a 3 song night shift, but with a little practice I'll look forward to relinquishing the crown of  world's worst dancer.  And for that, I know my Momma will be proud, cuz we have the same dancing shoes.



Leave a Reply.