Strawberry jam, hand-sewn quilts and tea & sandwiches for 150.  Nobody does it like the Church Ladies.  They are a special group who've known you since you were this high*indicating just higher than their knee.  They know your family, they know your history and they remember the funny things you did in the Christmas Pageant when your dream of acting was ignited, cast in the starring role of Mary of Nazareth, with a baby Jesus wrapped in swaddling clothes.  Church ladies work together, they pickle and can and stitch, they take care.  I grew up watching women bustle around a commercial kitchen with pots, no vats of chilli slow cooking on the stove as one chops, one rinses, one pulls out fresh baking from the oven, surrounded by the smells of homemade love.  These women have always been ladies, their penmanship is exquisite with the cursive letters leaning to the right, gracefully connecting one thought to the next.  
  For my wedding shower these women who've watched me grow up threw me a church basement party.  Which is exactly what I wanted.  I wanted church lady sandwiches- egg salad, deviled ham and canned salmon, 'cuz there is nothing like a church lady sandwich.  I wanted mismatched tea cups that had been bestowed by members of the congregation who had passed away.  I wanted fresh made pie with lard crust.  I wanted it to feel like all the showers I had attended my whole life.  A symbol to the world I was growing up, that I was graduating from one stage of life to the next.  
   The church lady is a dying breed, both literally and figuratively.  These women put the mass before the individual.  They donate their time and wares (jams, pies or quilts) to support their beliefs and each other.  Though the word feminist isn't typically associated with a church lady, they are.  They prove that a group of strong women can create, laud and honour themselves.  Taking pride in the knowledge that they are making a difference.  I have always known these women as a selfless group, giving to others with food and merriment.  Nurturing a sense of belonging.  In this time when our lives are being torn between PVR, work commutes and general selfishness we would be smart to take a lesson from them. By pulling together we are stronger, and the pulling is a lot easier.  
  For me, I wish it wasn't a forgotten group as there is nothing better than fresh homemade jam.  The lessons they teach each other are invaluable.  And my favourite wedding shower card quote: Men require a lady in the kitchen and a Tiger in the bedroom.  Thank you Church Ladies, I wish there were more like you.
Amber
4/3/2012 12:00:13 am

Great blog MM! The church ladies earned our admiration and they certainly deserve our praise. Kudos to you for giving it to them.

Reply
Mary
4/3/2012 11:58:18 am

Wonderful blog gal.....I love those church ladies too!

Reply



Leave a Reply.