I have done it. I have measured. From where I sit it doesn't look good. I knew things had gotten off track but I didn't realize that they had gotten so far off track, careening down a steep rocky slope, spontaneously combusting, only to come to rest at the bottom, upside down; a swollen smoldering wreck.  That sounds dramatic but that's how I felt upon completing my measurements.  I then promptly had a panic attack.
 
  
I knew things were rough, the tell tale sign?  Doing surface repairs; expecting to feel better about myself. Hair cut. Which was much needed and welcomes a chic blossom of blonde bangs. New boots. That make me feel like dancing and kicking sass, in equal parts. Schmancy new jeans- and herein lies the rub-they are a size bigger than I have ever been. Hello McFly!  I've been eating meat and cakes and pies. Deep fried anything and butter soaked regret.  And trying to convince myself that it's okay.  For the last 9 months I have been bragging about my blog stick-to-it've-ness and how determined I am. Well, turns out writing a daily blog is easier than rearranging my diet or exercising. But enough is enough, the way things have been isn't working, quite obviously. I've promised to make things better. Why aren't I actually doing it? I think the thought of climbing this mountain is scary.  So scary I've been grinding my teeth.  Since the idea of this whole self-improvement thing started I have been putting off the numbers.  Sizes, measurements and inches chasing me around-stressing me out.  I've been losing sleep over it. The desperate need to pull myself up by the boot straps and pull myself together.  But really who do you know that's really pulled together? We're all effed, at least a little bit.  But I would rather be effed in the head, than effed in a pair of giant jeans.

   What a strange way to feel- recognizing things need to change and knowing I am the only one who can do it. The very scariest part is that I might fail this experiment.  Though it's not an experiment at all, it's an important part of my dream career path.  Sadly, looking great is one of the crucial components.  So, here we go- the hardest, scariest and most honest thing I have ever posted. 

My numbers:

Height 68 inches or 5'8"

Weight 174.4lbs

Following measurements are in inches

Bust 40
Natural waist 33
Hips 44
Thighs sitting: r:25   l:25.75
Thigh standing r:24.5  l :25
Arm rest r: 13.5  l:13.5
Arm flex r:13.75  l:13.5

    These are my starting measurements and I will keep you posted with changes periodically. My hope is to also find out my resting heart rate, BMI and endurance.  I am hoping for a swift shift to being on track again. But first I have to put out a few smoldering fires.
Joanne boland
10/8/2012 10:58:01 pm

I have such respect for you my friend. xo

Reply
10/9/2012 01:50:31 am

So....I confess dear Melissa I don't read daily cuz I tend to get Facebook burnout, but I read this one and felt the need to share. I too reached that moment a couple months ago....NOTHING in my closet fit anymore, and the mirror was not my friend. Yuck. Just waiting for that I-can't-stand-this-anymore moment to hit, and it did. Borrowed my sister in law's Weight Watcher books (for me, I need some sort of rulebook, regime, plan....just not "I'm gonna cut down"....I need to see the rules) Been two months-ish, feeling great, down about 12 pounds (although only 2 people have said "Have you lost weight?"....baffles me....but my hubby says I hid the overweight well and he didn't really think I needed to lose any...hehe...gotta love that) At the very least, my clothes fit me again. That was my main gripe. But I'll keep going now till Christmas...maybe 5-7 more pounds....I know exactly how you're feeling and hurray for the start of your plan. I'll be right behind you baby. And after 3 days of Thanksgiving gorging, I am SO ready to get back too. You Go Girl. Yay!

Reply



Leave a Reply.