Every girl I know has a deep jean drawer.  A drawer filled with varying sized jeans.  The dressy jeans, the fat day jeans, the great ass jeans and the jeans that are just waiting to embarrass you by splitting from seam to seam while at your local farmer's market, not that that's happend*insert awkward throat clearing. Then there's your skinny jeans.  The jeans that you can only fit into on the skinnest days of the month.  The jeans that you bought on the day you were feeling better about yourself than you have ever felt since.  The Skinny jeans, a beautiful and terrifying thing.  Let me introduce you to: The Skinny Jean Experiment.  Heretofore known as The SJEx.  
  
   The Skinny Jean Experiment was born out of a need to prove something to myself: I can-too fit in these jeans.  Well, let's just say there's a titanic distance between fitting into and feeling comfortable in them.  I would have even settled for not cutting off the circulation to my overflowing muffin top. *Gasp*  I mean I had to wear the long flowy shirt, just to pretend they were alright.  The SJEx wasn't so bad at my house.  Surprise, surprise they're okay in my comfort zone...But in the big bad outside world, she's a different story.  I barely made it down the stairs.  It was four floors of trying to build up momentum only to be stopped when my jeans reached their maximum stretch.  Back when TLC was amazing, I used to watch Stacey and Clinton help curvy women get into something structured, creating a flattering silhouette.  And I finally get it.  *Ding Ding!  Catching my shadow's larger than life silhouette projected as a giant on the wall...sigh.  I would like to create a totally different one.  I finally understand straight lines and something structured on the curvy gal. Floppy makes your curves look like fat; the less you are bending a line the slimmer you look.

   The SJEx wasn't so hard in sloppy Parkdale.  There are quite a few fashion misses as you roam West Queen West.  I was almost confident, until... and I can barely believe the place that brought the SJEx to a crushing almost tearful halt: The Grocery Store.  As The SJEx and I are waiting in the checkout lane with 18 items or less grabbing at my waistband which was digging into my soft belly, I looked back.  My eyes scrunched with discomfort were met with 3 model types buying cottage cheese and blueberries with lean turkey slices. And I have Doritos, Bits and Bites and my way-too-tight-super-skinner-than-they should be jeans.  I feel embarrassed
 and big and stupid, though I am not sure why I feel stupid it's just all connected somehow.  Then the Starving Artist pipes up, in my head of course; You're already starting.  They are Starving Artists too, just at a point closer to their goal.  But it doesn't make me feel better.  I want to be the best now!  So, when I got home feeling sorry for myself I teared up and put on my jogging pants and ate Bits and Bites.  The SJEx done for today.

  The scientific and logical part of my brain knows I am the reason I am where I am physically, emotionally and career-ically. Having had a great experience on Friday night; my first acting gig, I mean actual acting gig in over a year.  It was fast and fantastic and furious and soaking wet and never as special as I hope it will be.  And like one of those signs indicating how many days it's been since a company's last accident;  Today restarts the daily count.  Then my full time job ends Friday.  So what am I to do with myself.  I'm grasping at hands before pointing down in this oubliette of a business, so I thought this Starving Artist Blog would keep me busy.  But I worry that Dieting can be all stick and no carrot. Or rather all carrot stick.



Leave a Reply.