You have high blood pressure, you need to lower your cholesterol, try a no sodium diet. It's like you spend your childhood being told not to eat candy, cake and french fries.  Then you grow up and your doctor says don't eat candy, cake and french fries.  Well, then why do they even exist?  Pure torture.  Tempting devils (food cake) that ruin my mind and body.  Walking across the city I can smell the grease and fire smoked goodness wafting out onto the street.  Teasing my nose with those tantalizing fingers of smell.  While undertaking the Starving Artist I have been trying to up my game.  Sadly, I am now at the point where I want anything but those crisp and delicious veggies, followed by a cool glass of spring water.  I want some garbage.

  Hubby and I consider ourselves foodies.  Though not the culinary adventure type Foodie, we're more a "Find your favourite and only ever order from there" kinda Foodie.  If you want something, we know where to get it.  We know what we consider to be the best place for that particular dish.   We are open to exploring new places; brunches being the preferred time slot.  The comfort of eggs accompanied by coffee and booze.  The glamour of dinner in the light of day.  Brunch is also way more affordable.  And it's the closet you can get to having all the food groups in one meal.  But having a partner who loves eating well and tasting good things, while I am on a plan is:  Terrible.  I am following a health and wellness plan to strengthen myself.  But he's just as tempting as those city smells and what's worse, he knows my weaknesses.  

   So, in an effort to find a happy medium after a night of pizza and beer.  I am nibbling on celery. Eating natural peanut butter on 86 grain bread.  I am drinking a Delta (Burke) of water.  Exercise and clean living.  Who would've thought they'd be equal parts great and awful at the very same time.  I am not really sure how people become obsessed... but then it could also be my view from here.  My gym is on P1, the pool is not even a whole lap, the weather has been spitty and sharp.  My dog hair covered floor, the guy at the pool with the heel cracks, my tank top that rides up over my muffin top.  These are the things I see when I am sweating.  Now, after working out on a Sunday, I am stretching, hoping that one day I'll look into the mirror, at the gym, the studio, in the change room or my bathroom and finally see a girl I am proud to be.  The girl my Hubby sees.  Plus I would like to get rid of my high blood pressure; the flush is really not a good colour for me.
Hubby
11/12/2012 08:56:13 am

You're beautiful.

Reply



Leave a Reply.