Every month I have 3-5 days when I am a crazy full moon-atic.  When this not so pleasurable version of me appears to keep Hubby company, he never takes it well. It also takes him 2 days of me being not so nice for him to realize that it has been 28ish days since I was this mean.  So, needless to say he is finally getting the rhythm.  I also admit that working 14 hour days, most of which are in Hamilton have amplified these symptoms.  Yesterday, I wasn't nice at all.  I didn't deserve a second thought, let alone a premeditated ambush of love. But that's what I got. He sniper-ed me with a happy marriage and a grenade of smiles.
  Starting my day at 4:30am has created a split in our sleeping schedules, some nights he works that late.  Our weekends are full of all the errands and all the life we can jam into them.  We've been busy.  Today as I was waiting at work for my work to start again, I got a text.

Hubby: I have a surprise for you when you get home:)
MeliciousGinger Beer!
Hubby:  Better.
Melicious: The Comish has moved out?
Hubby: Nah, he's staying...
Melicious: Dang. You got me that super expensive nightie from SFYS? (SFYS: Secrets from your Sister, Toronto's most amazing lingerie boutique)
Hubby: Nope.
Melicious: Washed the Sheets?
Hubby: Nope. But I'll do that too.
Melicious: Oh geez.

  I racked my brain trying to figure out why this rainy Wednesday was suddenly so special.  Two hours later I saw Hubby's Facebook post: "Melicious is going to be surprised when she gets home" Below this statement friends and relatives posted their hypotheses, I was surprised to see what they thought would surprise me.  Thank Rod nobody suggested another FanBoy toy!  Then text:

Hubby: 2 surprises.:)
Melicious: Oh dear my love.
Hubby: ETA? Wanna make sure things are nice for you.:)
Melicious: Why?
Hubby: There are 3 surprises.
Melicious: That's a bit much.
Hubby: You're worth it.

  I sat at work thinking about surprises. I finished work. I rode home from work thinking about surprises.  I got off the bus...then I walked home thinking about...that's right, surprises.  Turns out I really love surprises. I should say that again.  I REALLY love surprises.  Climbing the four floors to my condo I thought some more.  Turning my key in the lock, opening to smells of my current favourite food: Saag Paneer Roti.  Mmmhmm, dinner is served.  Hubby turning the corner close on Jilly's heels, both of them wagging with excitement to have me home.  I smile. If this was the surprise- I really liked it. And I smiled.  But I came into our nearly new apartment and you know what?  It was painted.  It was painted in one day.  I left and came back and it was painted.  The cans had been sitting in our den for the last 3 months waiting for their chance to show their true colours and they did.  My house was transformed and I didn't even have to help do it:) BEST SURPRISE ever.  My vintage inspired bedroom... I mean OUR bedroom is Bibbity Bobbity-Blue and the den is Buttercup yellow and their both done.  Two coats, dry, clean and finished.  Boy, was surprised.  A huge checkmark for the TO DO list and a giant gold star for the best Hubby I've ever had.  My 2 other surprises? Clean sheets and 2 books from my Wishlist.  SO, as a representative appointed to speak for this Moon-atic; Hubby please remember she'll be back in a month and you've set the bar pretty high. I love you! I love you! I love you.  But that's no surprise.
Momma
6/6/2012 10:10:26 pm

What a wonderful surprise - way to go Hubby!!!

Reply
Amber
6/6/2012 10:48:26 pm

Take that PMS! ;)

Reply



Leave a Reply.