The Metro this morning had an end of summer recipe.  Whoa your horses! END of Summer? I do not agree. So, I huffed and puffed and stomped and spit. Then I looked at my calendar and it's the day after the Labour Day weekend- the unofficial end of summer.  Goodbye white shoes.  I can't believe it's flown by so fast.  I remember being 10 and cursing the summer for being so long and boring! When would I see my friends again?  Now, as a grown up, I can see my friends whenever I want to- if I have the time.  But that doesn't mean it isn't better in the warm sunlight of summer with so many more options available for fun.  These sunny months I worked my first full time gig in 5 years. Monopolizing 5 days of my week -every week; which wore me out for the weekend. Not a great way to spend such a rock-awesome summer. Les Sigh.  That being said I was hyper-conscience of spending time doing fun things in the great outdoors, charging my Vitamin D battery for the long- and what they say will be cold winter.  What were my fav parts you ask? Well, let me tell you:

Celebrating 1 year of marriage to my Hubby and the Commissioner. I am so glad he's been so patient and so helpful with all things house related- like painting and dishes.  Keep it up.  Also now that it is on record you will be legally responsible to maintain these chores.  Sorry, I don't make up the rules.

Yellow toe nails. Candy corn toenails. Both of which were my great idea. But when applied to my fingertips was an after night shoot disaster.  My super yellow purse that I got for Valentine's Day looks even better with my summer sun kissed skin. Yellow! It worked for me.  

I still fit my shorts from last year.  So I didn't need to buy anything but 2 jean skirts and 4 assorted tee-shirts in this summer's hottest colours. I always have a go-to outfit.  And this year it was a jean skirt and summer peach top.  Oh! I also got a new watch, my last one was 11 years old.  And for the first time I ordered clothing from the internet and it really fit and looked good.  I think I might be getting the hang of this inter-web thingy.

I watched over 60 sunrises while eating cold cereal often with fiber supplements. Some sunrises started as night and drifted into mornings. And those mornings I've never been happier to see the sun.  

Coors light iced tea was invented and I love it. As well I tried 6 new micro-breweries plus a sake distillery and a a few home brews- Thanks to Tambourine. There was also lots of delicious food on patios, including Mexican, Cuban and Continental. Drunken brunches with Hubby, Tambourine & Damber.  Plus there were beers for the first time in years with my NewMomma-friend.

Clearing out a tonne of beads and findings as well as paper crafts and stationary was a great way to refocus me on what I really love.  I learned 5 new chords on Baby Belle.  My sight reading is getting faster. My writing is getting better.  So says I.  I took up drawing. I am not good at it but I started.  These artistic endeavours are starting to gain momentum.  

Entertainment-wise this summer had rollercoasters, ice skating, acrobats, fishing, the drive in, the beach, tight flying formations, 3D movies,  a
 first edition print from 1923:) by Anna Jameson about exploring Toronto in the winter.  I watched Annie- I haven't seen it in 20 years.  Then wore my locket for 3 weeks straight and sang Baby to myself, until a work colleague asked me to stop. Oh yeah! I almost forgot the Olympics.  That was cool.

   So, while suffering from my last official summer sunburn, my pale skin glowing a mean red, the vitamin E gel stinging my eyes.  I couldn't help but think about all the smiles and sunshine I was lucky enough to enjoy this condensed season.  The greatest thing about the weather change is that it's the perfect opportunity to be thankful for the good parts and look back fondly and while also seeing that there are many new adventures yet to unfold.   So Metro have I got one for you;  two parts sunshine, one parts Melicious and just a dash of fun, the perfect recipe for the end of summer.


P.S. Fall if you're reading this you do not officially begin until Sept 22.  So, don't think you're on the clock early.



Leave a Reply.