Heading into the busy holiday season I thought I would try to organize myself.  I would love to be one of those "5 year plan-It's all going according to schedule" girls but these are words I have never uttered.  Ever.  There are things I am good at organizing; like other people's events-which can be very helpful this season. But there are organizational tools that elude me, for example choreographing a Puppy and Kitty Xmas Carolling Concert- I don't know how those animals on the radio do it.  Oh and Social planning.  It's not my forte.  Please let me explain.  I am great in social situations, it's all the other stuff that goes with them that I stink at.

   Firstly, I am not a good planner.  Not to mean I can't make plans and keep them. It's just that I like to fly by the seat of my pants which means I leave a lot up to destiny. I make general plans with multiple options for amusement. Letting myself go with the flow- a BFF trick extraordinaire.   It's a lot more fun that way. Unless of course you're married to the Commish, who must account for every minute he's on the clock, otherwise the boys upstairs will start giving him heat; and he's too old for that.  

   Secondly, I tend to double, triple and in rare cases even quintuple book myself.  The enthusiasm of just being invited somewhere clouds my judgment, going against all scientific theories of time and space. Which I hope by this time in the year 2014 (baring the Rapture) we'll have solved. And I will be able to attend all events simultaneously on a fractured timeline.

   Thirdly, distraction. I am easily distracted.  Oh! A squirrel!

   Fourthly, short term memory loss. Did someone say something about squirrels?  If I don't write it down it's gone.

   Fifthly, I forget every year this coming month goes by so fast and then the parties are over. It's a busy blur of festive cheer. Leaving us in the Daylight savings dark with nothing to celebrate until Valentine's day.  

   So, I hope this year to take advantage of some much needed celebrating. Despite all my social foibles.  There something relieving about FB holiday invites going out early and the pre-event planning I've been involved in.  So, this year I look forward to wrapping myself up in an ugly Sandy Clause sweater and enjoying all the miracles and merriment of the season. At least that's my plan;)




Leave a Reply.