Yesterday, while lying in a shallow grave getting hailed on, I realized. I love my job.  I know, I know, it sounds terrible.  And really it is. I mean, it's freaking awful.  It's cold and dirty and you have to use unheated port-a-pottys, and you stand around for 14 hours, and your jaw hurts from clenching it in the cold. You have no control over when you'll be finished; no matter how hard or well you work.  Generally, you're just uncomfortable and itchy. The film business, ain't purty.  There in lies the rub, I love it anyways.  I love, love, love it; and it's a good thing I have a union that dictates what I get paid- cuz I would do all this crazy stuff for free- that's how much I love it.  FREE!!! I would be a waitress, or a police officer, or a janitor in a movie, tv show or theatre production.  The great thing is, I never have to stay the same thing more than a few days.  Tomorrow always holds another character.
  
   Here is my morbid dream, which I guess should be classified as a nightmare...I want to play a dead body 7 times before I die, and preferably in the following ways:

1. Blueing Corpse on a mortuary slab with the Y-stitches- I don't know the cause of death, the CSI team are just putting the clues together, there will hopefully be a "flashback" of the murder happening.

2. Falling down stairs- splayed out at the bottom.- Pushed by my jealous lover or a woman who wants to steal my husband and perfect life.

3.  A cancer patient or other near survivor.- Not really something I want to do...but if I am playing people dying, this is one of the most likely avenues I'll have to take.

4. Impaled in the gut with a spear or jousting foil.- Going down in a medieval blaze of glory, a peasant woman secretly acting as a knight to save her family's business from a tyrannical Lord or Baron.
 
5. Eaten by a wild animal, preferably a bear, after a wrestling match.- While lost in the woods, without shoes I stumble into a ferocious bear's territory.  He lurches at me from the rustling brush, and we struggle as he slashes and tears, I eventually succumb and the bear eats me, ripping me apart.
 
6. Swarmed by zombies or dragged away by demons- like in Ghost or Zombieland, with lots of screaming and grasping for help, clutching the hand of someone I know is going to leave me behind, I am too far gone already. I just hope if it's Zombies, my team of apocalyptic survivors shoot me in the head to honour my memory, keeping me from becoming a zombie myself. It's the least they could do.

7.  Floating in a pool- eyes open.- a timeless classic, and I would hope it's shot in black and white, from the bottom of the pool.  Classic death, drowned in a swimming pool.

    All that terrible stuff being said, I would also like to solve a mystery,
 find a missing child, rob a bank, fly, unite 2 feuding families...okay, okay, let's be honest. I want to do everything.  There's not a single thing that I wouldn't do or be.  I have always been a glutton for punishment, not real punishment mind you, but working in film might be worse punishment as it's a lot more takes, a lot more angles, and a lot more direction, but I still love it.  Why be a anything, when you could be everything?



Leave a Reply.