Hurricane Sandy is expected to make landfall late Monday night or early Tuesday morning. But we won't know her full affect until Wednesday.  Now Ontario has already been dealing with a peer pressure system of it's own and the dire combination could, apparently, be just that. Winds could hit highs of 150 km/h in some areas.  That's like a bajillion times faster than the average sexy hair toss.  Waves on the Great Lakes could be five to seven metres high. Or maybe even as high as a million mouse boats. It's not a good time to be a worst case scenario Sally or a Debbie downright awful.  So, how does one prepare for being without power? In a flooded home? I am not sure actually. Plus weather like this really blows my mind.

 Now, those of you who know me, know me to be a teeny bit high strung. A worry wart. Obsessive even. But for some reason, I am not one who worries about a little bit of weather. That's probably because a snow storm seems a more likely Ontario disaster than a hurricane blowing in off the coast. It's not the big problems I am nervous about it's getting to and from work safely- cuz people aren't at their best when they're panicked. Kevin forbid the film industry take a day off- as they say the show must go On! And as fun as being sent home early from work might be...it has a tendency to bring out irrational behaviour.  Including but not limited to: purchase of multiple 72 hour emergency kits, stockpiling water, barricading windows, weird FB updates and waterproofing personal belongings. I am also expecting to hear a few Mayan calendar conversations. Predictions of the future and our impending doom. Nastradamus and whatnot. Panic effects people very differently, but most of it's irrational.  Except the panic that I've lost my smartphone, that's totally rational.

  Uncertain times call for certain adventures. I am planning on packing items together so I know where to find them, if I wake up in the dark. Placing a flashlight next to my bed, just in case. I am also trying to eat the contents of my freezer- for if the power fails- it's bye bye fish sticks.  All in all I'm sad this possible disaster is wind and water. I was kinda hoping the apocalypse would be of the Zombie variety. And that the day after tomorrow would be a new start for those of us wiry enough to plan for an undead invasion.  Though if you ask someone who uses the Mayan calendar, you'd know the apocolypse isn't 'til December.  So, for now, even though the weather blows, I guess we'll just have to soak it up. Hurricane Sandy wants to keep us on our toes, even if they are soaking wet.

* Red Cross urges people in the storm’s path to have supplies ready in case hydro power is out for up to 72 hours.

momma
10/30/2012 02:42:29 am

You really have a sick sense of humour - where did you get that!

Reply
Amanda west
10/30/2012 03:22:54 am

Mel, the important thing is to ensure that your vibrator is fully charged!

Reply
Rachel White
10/31/2012 02:17:51 am

What kind of vibrator do you have to have that it requires electricity to charge? :o

Reply



Leave a Reply.