Do you know how often I think about how lucky I am to live in Toronto? I Effing love this city.  I mean it's getting out of control how much I love this city. I love the waterfront and Queen street and the CN tower and I love the film community. I love it. That being said... There are a few things I would change given the option. 

1. This construction, I mean did we have to plan every digging, drilling, laying & maintenance project at once? We must have hired in all of the Ontario labour board employees, it is truly remarkable that those skilled labour ads for apprenticeships are working.

2. The cuts to our essential services.  Like street sweeping and garbage pick up.  And sweeping up garbage from the streets.  Our neighbourhood is littered (literally) with mix matched minutia of city life including but not limited to coffee cups, free flyers, dog pooh and a lonely shoe, seeking his missing mate.

3. TTC. Oh Red Rocket, you shiny and often disillusioning commuter car.  Filled with the odds and bobs of this city, people who are trying to convince themselves that taking TTC is good for the environment, or faster than driving, or any number of bogus reasons to keep riding this slow, unreliable and often sticky and smelly lumbering giant.  But the truth of the matter is, it's way cheaper than a car + you can read while driving (or in my case write)

4.  Parking is another issue.  With one-way streets, side roads and parallel spots keeping unskilled drivers circling, it is a nightmare, especially with snow removal hours, side-switching for road cleaning and bad drivers becoming bad parkers- taking up two or more spots.  Also fire hydrants every 10 feet because of the occupancy regulations, which is great to prevent fires but not so helpful for people wanting to park closer to the venue.  
5.  Smile:) Turn that frown upside down! Everyone can do it, with the exception of a few with facial muscle disorders- sorry.  But a smile can really change your day.  Smiling actually helps you feel better about yourself, and feeling better about yourself is a good start to feeling better about the rest us:)

6. People puking on the side of the road, in front of the bank, at the corner of my building, the front steps of the bar and all over themselves.  And not just the action of seeing someone puke, but the remnants of pukes past.  Please go to the loo if you think you might loose your lunch, it's really the least you could do.  Well, the least you could do would actually be if you didn't eat a whole bunch of crazy coloured food before drinking yourself stupid and losing it all over the sidewalk.
 
  I love this city and I know it loves me too.  I am 10 years into this love affair and it doesn't seem to be going away, it's only getting stronger.  The little villages that make up this metropolis.  The way people feel when they get here.  This city is world class, she just happens to be more interested in socializing than grades.



Leave a Reply.