When my jogging pants were tight... I knew there was a problem.  For the last 8 years I have been half-heartedly chasing my "dreams"- which for the most part are shifting and unspecific.  The only constant being my love of performing.  Of which I have achieved very little "success".  I put success into air quotes because as an artist "success" is subjective, relative and intangible, except we all know what it feels like when it happens.  Oh and let's not even discuss the italics.  So where am I?  I am 30. I have found a job that pays my bills.  My loving parents support my every artistic whim.  My Puppa loves me and the Kitty likes me most of the time. I have a BFF that really gets me.  I am happily married to a Hubby who takes very good care of me. I have been married for 1 year and marriage agrees with me- if you know what I mean.  I am supposed to be happy. But there is something missing.  I have been working on the periphery of this acting business for almost 10 years, but I haven't really been trying.  Whoa, that was hard to admit.  Well, I've tried a little but not enough to really make a difference, just enough to keep up appearances.  Mostly just wishing and hoping.  Fingers crossed that someone, somewhere with some sort of power over something would see me and recognize greatness.  Well, that's stupid.  I thought by not really trying that I couldn't really fail.  Well, that's really stupid.  I was also hoping that my stubborn nature would help me to be the last one standing.  Stupid, who wants to win by default?  So, things have got to change.  Knowing that nothing great comes without hard work I have set myself a challenge.  Thrown down a gauntlet, if you will, the contract is as follows:


  I, Melicious Manners, heretofore known as the talent am willing entering into this contract.  The talent is going to GO for IT! There will be some serious changes in the talent's career.  She's going to track her physical, employment and emotional progress.  In this, the talent's 31st year, half measures will not be tolerated.  This will be a full court press.  The talent is going to start putting in the required effort. Which includes but is not limited to; Physical appearance, Agency representation, Professional betterment, Style and General emotional well-being.  


I the Talent approve this message.
  
   The Starving Artist will be released every Monday starting Sept 17.  And I want to invite you to see what I can do.  Plus I would be lying if I didn't admit that this blog is one of the reasons I started to actually believe in myself.  Finding out that even things this hard have benefits beyond expectation is the most rewarding lesson I've learned. Lesson 2: The more daunting the endeavour the greater the reward.  The time is now, there will never be another today for me to better myself.  Today is all we get and I am tired of being stupid. But I am ready to be hungry. I am looking forward to impressing you:)
Not the Momma
9/9/2012 11:27:30 pm

You go girl. Impress you. The rest of us are behind your dream!

Reply
Hubby
9/10/2012 05:10:26 am

<3!

Reply
9/10/2012 04:58:18 pm

You learned ukulele this year....really quickly.... and you're really good. Major accomplishment....and you're just gettin better and better, aren't you? I can't wait to hear!

Reply



Leave a Reply.