Standing still my, my feet stuck to this tape

My last day is looming, a call sheet sealed fate

When this gig began, the spring had just sprung

Then summer slipped by as I clung to each rung

The days've grown shorter in many strange ways 

Counting five long months of long hours and days

The leaves have started to change and my schedule too

I look forward to spending more blog time with you

Fall is beginning and I am due for a shift

But it's awful to think about starting to drift

Away from these people I have started to learn

How they tick and they work and for what they yearn

Sharing this time with a team full of folks

And fighting and eating and having in-jokes

Camp Film is ending with a sad sweet goodbye

The last night's the hardest. I'll try not to cry

This job stole my summer but

I can't complain

Unless you ask me directly, then I won't refrain

A new job waits for me on Monday next week 

Even though I had hoped for a few days of sleep

I guess I'll catch up on that rest at some point

For me though it's off to fight crime in the joint

A uniform, vest, a gun and those boots

My same easy gig for those studio shoots

So Mysteries' over at least for this year

But they'll be back soon, please don't you fear

I hope that it wasn't too much of a killer 

As I ended a victim in my own career thriller.

And my Stand around partner needs one final beer.

A drink and some stories and sharing of cheer

A clinking of glasses to seal this season's fate.

And a pinky swear that we'll wrap this up and save next year's date

To all you who've worked so hard and so great

Time for you to party, and stay out real late.

Raising a glass to a job you did well

With pride and with virtue your heart, it should swell

Thank you my dear folks from ye olde Toronto!

I wouldn't change a thing. We made quite a great show.




Leave a Reply.