Writing, every person who can write, does.  That's not to say that every person can do it well.  And people who practise can typically write even better.  Well, people, I can do it, I do it well and I practise.  That should stand on it's own. But it doesn't, writing is something that is beautifully read in the eyes of the beholder.  The value of those words and stories depend on the reader.  People who can read, do it.  And do it everyday.  And people who can write will continue to do it. Hopefully they do it well.  Otherwise what would happen in a world without stories?

   I want to write stories and tell tales and maybe even spin a yarn or two.  I always have.  I want to tell stories to people.  Stories that roll around in my head.  The characters I hang with when I am on my own, and the mischief they get into.  But I want to be able to work on them, because I love them.  But asking for money for something you love. Well, that just makes me feel guilty.  Wanting to be working at something you're in love with, seems greedy. Most people are happy with a job, a steady pay check- Too bad if you don't like it.  Do it for the money.  I should be happier that I am doing what I love and that is it's own reward.  Oh and it really is.  I love having inside jokes in an online world.  I love that I have been tough enough on myself to stick with it.  But it does seem kinda lack luster when your big launch happens and it's just you typing at a computer and your dog waiting to go for a walk.   Also there's a missing thank you cuz I want to reward you for reading.  For making this an emotional success for me.  I do want to start working on more of a contractual basis, you know like a job. But here's the problem, I don't have any experience.

 I don't have experience? Okay, I am not sure how much more practise I will need before I start gaining some "experience".  I have not dealt with deadlines.  Because daily entries for 11 months straight, is a flimsy work ethic.  Oh a track record.  Perhaps a school newspaper? Head of the Young Voices of Canada club? Maybe I have 2 years to work as an unpaid intern in a publishing firm or daily rag.  I should have a degree in journalism with at least 5+ years of online media editorial experience.   Alright, alright already, I am so I'm not Arianna Huffington.  And I am not saying I am Tolstoy, I would never be that presumptuous. I will, however wait for a critic to say it, then quote it on my FB fanpage and the outside jacket of my book, well series of books.  Sorry, tangent, I was also writing my Oscar speech, but I can't decide which category I am accepting for.  As far as I am concerned I have already climbed that well written mountain, in my mind.  Now how do I photoshop this resume to prove I am up here? Cuz people are never going to believe I was.  Okay, okay, so maybe they're right I do need a bit more practice. But I am on the journey to becoming an above average writer, if I do say so myself. And I just did.



Leave a Reply.