It amazes me how making progress can make you feel worse than standing still.  I have been lamenting my poor luck in this industry for almost 10 years. I have been killing myself trying to make my dreams come true. I've been standing there, one my mark, waiting. I've been working so hard behind the scenes that I now have a matching set of under eye baggage.  I have been hob-nobbing and being myself and telling jokes and being a sympathetic ear and not giving up on myself.  And all those things actually worked. It really worked to be myself.  So, why do I feel like I don't deserve the amazing opportunity I've been given?

   I feel like I have slipped in the back door. Like if I had gone about this in the real way I wouldn't have gotten it. Popular opinion varies. BFF & Hubby think that this is well deserved. That I have proven myself and am getting taken seriously, because I am serious.  Oh and talented, they may have said that too;) My Parents think any news is good news, and the important part is that I got it.  My work colleagues are happy to work with someone who knows how they work.  But I feel like I have been fighting against being that type of backdoor artist. I want to walk in the audition room and have them see what it took these guys 5 months to see. That's on me.

   The nerves I am suffering from are a shock. It's as though my body knows I didn't get this gig on talent, I got it on personality. I am scared of letting people down. Or even worse, I am scared of being worse than the worst person I've seen all season.  I am hoping that my confidence will kick back into gear. Cuz to meet me you'd never think I had a confidence issue. Though maybe it's my lack of self esteem that will help me to be a braver performer. It certainly has been pushing me in the past few months.  I know I can do the work- and its not that it's hard, it's just a challenge. One that I hope I am up for- despite all the second, third and fourth thoughts I've had to the contrary.  I just hope I am as good as I've been pretending to be all these years. So, I guess that puts me here. Standing waist deep in chilly water in September.  The shivering is partly the early stages of hypothermia, but mostly I think it's nerves.

BFF
9/21/2012 02:53:45 am

Popular opinion doesn't vary. Your opinion varies because you're nervous. But even the most accomplished stars gets nervous before the 'big game' Melissa. It doesn't mean you're not talented, it means you're excited. And that's a good feeling. Knock 'em dead! xo

Reply
Hubby
9/21/2012 05:21:25 am

Ultimately, whether it be hard work, karma, or chaos, the Universe brought you this because you are an actor, and beautiful creative person. You deserve this gift and whatever follows. I love you.

Reply
The Commissioner
9/21/2012 05:23:45 am

My iPhone 5 is in the mail. Don't drown, or I'll have no-one to pay for it.

Reply
Not the Momma
9/21/2012 06:39:09 am

You have paid your dues, the opportunity is there. Seize it and be as good as you think you are. I believe!

Reply
The other Momma
9/21/2012 07:37:50 am

Enjoy your gig. I love you!

Reply
Catherine
9/22/2012 09:15:37 am

You are great and I bet all is going well! You go!

Reply



Leave a Reply.