Today's hot topic is implied value.  "Wha? What's that you ask?"  Whoa gun-jumper, let me tell you....
Implied values are the "special" rates that Groupon offers or the "Prix Fixe" of Winterlicious/Summerlicious/every-other-possible-licious, except Melicious of course:)  

First the Groupon:
 These spas, resorts and all vendors in general are approached by a company- Dealfind, WagJag, Groupon etc... and asked to offer goods or services at a discounted rate. A discount of 50% or more to members who subscribe to their Coupon-ing services... So they want a full brazilian wax- not an inside leg lame one strip waxing, or perhaps they want a .5 carat pair of zirconium earrings,  maybe a trip to Bermuda to sleep in a plane in a tree for 3 nights with dinner included.  These are bargain basement prices on occasionally decent items...depending on what rings your bell.  What you don't know is that of the slashed-everything-must-go-price-tag only 50% goes to the actual spa or resort.  So when you look at it as a business model it's really all about generating a new client base.

Second the Winterliciou/Everything-licious epidemic
  These restaurants apply for the honour of being on the Winterlicious map, menu and website.  They are given a price point between $20-35 for lunch, and $35-50 for dinner, and must provide a prix fixe menu with multiple options for app, main and dessert.  Again these prices may not reflect the actual cost, it is a promotion used as a tool to stimulate a new clientele.  

So, where do they go so wrong?  
  Oh right, by taking it out on the customer bending them over, taking out their ladles and....oh wait, that's the graphic (graphic, but not images) novel I am working on... That's right, the staff bad mouth us as cheap, US, how very dare they. Trying their services or meals or whatever with a coupon, a GD coupon they agreed to! (mid-sentence exclamation means business) and they rip us off.  Small portions, rushed dry food, plunked onto tables, no cares as to which lips you're getting waxed or where you're bleeding.  As a business owner (I am currently CEO of this Website) I would suggest add-ons at the store level, I mean hello? Resorts could offer breakfast in bed with their local movie star? OR a spa could ask if you wanted that huge blackhead dealt with or if you just wanted to keep walking around like that.  Not so hard, be innovative, I want to want to come back, but I am not going to with these shenanigans, strong words but I think you understand. You sold a full body massage, facial and manicure for 55 cents, that's not my fault.  And even though it is a hell of a deal, just do it right would'ya?  Don't you want me to come back and pay full price? Wouldn't you like me to tell my friends how great your Steak Tartare is?  Cause I have a huge mouth and big neck, with a lot of breath support from my genetically modified lungs.  I can dish with the best of them, I just wish you could too.  



Leave a Reply.