Since my move to Queen Street, I have become very aware of this new thing called: Fads.  Apparently fads aren't a new thing but my early life in a small town limited my fad experience.   Having only heard of them on the Grease 2 soundtrack.  But now living near the beautiful people, I've started to notice things.  Take  antique fans; they are quite popular. Vintage wind is very trendy. Unicorns are also hot right now. But I've loved them since I was 4. Can you spell trendsetter? Yes, yes I can, though I would never consider myself an actual trendsetter. I simply stay true to what I like and wait for it to come back into fashion.   I have clothes that are poor fad choices but In my time of confusion I turn to you.  And fashionably speaking Queen St., lately there have been a few misses.

   First, I am concerned with the mesh-surection. I remember in the late 80's and early 90's when red mesh tanks were the hottest in men's apparel.  Or worn as a black top layer over a cream coloured classy slip dress.  But now it's all types of crocheted shirts and open weaves, worn over -nothing! Exposing the typically elusive  crevices of the upper body.  It seems as though this once classy top layer has become a solo-performer for maximum exposure.  Not that I mind seeing the human form unveiled, I just don't think it complies with the shirt- shoes-service regulation. And I don't need (more) boobs in my breakfast:)

  Secondly, Pabst blue ribbon.  Now I have been a fan since the Chicago World's Fair- which was 1893, yeah you read that right. That was when they became the blue ribbon winner! And now I may not have been drinking it for over one hundred years. But I have always had a special place for those teeny bubbles and smooth flavour.  I have also been drinking beer in cans for years cuz glasses are for Prisses.  Plus who doesn't like holding a tall boy? As fab as it is though, beer cans should not be a fashion accessory.  Choosing a reasonably priced alcoholic beverage shouldn't be a fad...it makes sense to pay for quality which also happens to be cheap and delicious.

   But the biggest trend trouble I am having? Well,  I feel like there's a fad this summer to wear high waisted short shorts that accentuate the camel's toe. No other pant, covering here or here.*insert thigh swooping gesture.  Just the prominent display of the great Canadian moose knuckle...Now I was raised with the 'leave something to the imagination' school of thought and I find it very distracting to see a woman's birth canal as she rides her bike down the street.  I mean, c'mon ladies, who wants to buy the cow when they get the camel toe for free?  Plus it just looks plain uncomfortable.

   That being said there are exceptions to every rule. Some trendy folks have taken these fad affronts and twisted them into merely mild mis-uses of fashion.  I know, I know I'm supposed to say what's good for the goose is good for the gander...except when the gander in this is a 500 pound land whale laced up like a pot roast in short-shorts. Oh, I just realized that doesn't sound very nice. So here's another try. Trendsetters, be brave and bold, without being slaves. Learn how to dress for fad success & use your social compass. But the biggest trend that I hope to set is this: No matter how much is showing, you are who you are; from the top of your head to the tip of your camel toe.  People, people there are so many ways to put your best toes forward, but you should be flashing 10, not 12. 




Leave a Reply.