It's because to them you're the most beautiful girl in the room.  The one and only... The girl of their dreams. Their calendar girl.  You can call me crazy and even though it may be true, I love boy bands.  There is something special about the way that formula works.  There's a lid for every pot. An object for every affection.  The quirky one, the sensitive one, the bad boy, the tough one, the brainy one.  Whatever your flavour of the week, there's a boy just for you.  They are the neapolitan of music- chocolate, vanilla or strawberry... Why choose when you can have all 3?!?!
   If I think back far enough, I remember NKOTB then BSB then N*Sync now One Direction, with some Take That, Boyz II Men and All 4 One sprinkled in for flava.  How deep was my love, you might ask? Well, it's truly, madly, deeply the most predictable love of all.  I know, I know, it's not COOL to love boy bands with their pop music and choreo-dance moves, their cheesy lyrics or their manufactured sound, but I'd be the first person to tell you, I'm not cool.  It's possible that I might be the reason they exist. I am a 30 year old married woman who still goes gooey when 5 teenage-looking boys harmonize about how lovely I am... Well, I think they're talking to me...
  The boy band is not a new phenomenon.  It's been happening since screaming young women could buy an LP or Cassette tape or CD or MP3 or a special release collection from iTunes.  It's been happening since Beatle-mania- it's been happening since music began.  There will always be a special place on the Billboard charts for the boy band, though for one reason or another they'll never be taken seriously as musicians, unless they live in a Yellow Submarine...  No matter how involved boy bands are in the writing and production of their music, they remain judged by the rest of music-land and post-pubescent society as lame.  Like being a boy band with a squeaky clean-teeny-bopper image is a bad thing.  Teaching our girls that it's better to what? Chris Brown that shit? or get busted for drinking and driving?  Wouldn't it be better if we encouraged our girls to daydream about things a little less violent and legally limited?  It doesn't seem like a big deal... But instead, we want them to grow up- stop listening to that bubblegum?  But I love bubblegum and I am double-mint-serious.
  In a perfect world, the boy band would be celebrated by more than the screaming fans holding out hope that someday, if I could just meet Joe, I know he would fall in love with me... Cause he's the young one, and we're closest in age.  I mean that makes sense...right? To be screaming from the top row of the Skydome taking flash photos of tiny dancing shapes on a pyrotechnic stage! You'd love me if you met me....I believe in our love, Joe.  I know it borders on creepy-stalker when I talk like that, but there's just something about being an awkward girl growing up awkwardly, being worried that no one will love you the way you are and having a boy band look right down the barrel and tell you: "You are the most beautiful girl in the world." and even if it's not true, I believe it anyway.
Mary
4/9/2012 02:02:12 am

Earlier versions, the Four Tops, Beach Boys, and my fav... Four Seasons.

Reply



Leave a Reply.