There has been a rash of losses around me. Thankfully none have affected my life directly. Fingers crossed/knock on wood.  There have been a few people who're moving away or leaving town but nothing as permanent as death.  And seeing others go through that type of loss serves as a reminder that it is a constant possibility. A day without loss is a lucky day. There is also a big difference between the long drawn out planned departure and a tragic shock, though neither one is easier.

  While awaiting a planned departure; watching an illness slowly erode the person we love.  Waiting as your loved one drips away.  This is not something I wish upon anyone, though it does allow for time to spend together, taking advantage of their final weeks, days and hours, telling them how you feel and saying your goodbyes. The projected timeline bleak and knowing that though the Doc said 5 months, everyday is a gift. 

  The tragic shock is hard to recover from.  With all the unexpected events happening each day- people unwittingly putting themselves in harm's way just to get to work or take time off.  People ripped away while trying to live their lives.  Heart attacks, bike accidents, falls and many other momentary lapses in judgement can steal you from those you love. Leaving behind questions and unfinished business. A shocked sadness that fills a funeral home with unasked questions, never to be answered.

  Two different poisons with the same effect.  Neither way could ever be called: Better. So, my dear friends with burning eyes red from crying, with your loved one's memory in tow, I will celebrate your life today.  Please love each other now for tomorrow may be too late. The sands of time wait for no man. After years of watching my Grandma Near slowly loose her memory. Each loved one becoming a stranger to her. Forgetting herself but knowing there's something missing.  The tragic emptying of the human soul, as she lays impatiently waiting for mercy.  On the other side my Grandma Far sat knitting, and drifted off to sleep; finding rest eternally. Dying of a broken heart and leaving the rest of us to mourn her abrupt departure. I hope for the sake of my family that the thing I lose will be my body- taking my mind with it swiftly and quietly.  And when my time is finally through I want people to speak of me with honor, dignity and love. Which is how I wish them to speak of me today.  Friends, family and loved ones: lend me your years. For it won't be long enough before we're gonna need each other to lean on.


momma
8/21/2012 04:34:24 am

Today Lori W will be saying good bye to a high school friend - her time on earth is over. Life is way too short

Reply
Michelle
8/21/2012 06:35:23 am

Melissa, this was simply beautiful. As someone who just lost someone very close, I almost cried when I read your last line "Friends, family and loved ones: lend me your years. For it won't be long enough before we're gonna need each other to lean on." Of course I wished I had longer with my friend, but I am so thankful for the years I did have. Thanks for this post. It definately is helping with the healing.

Reply



Leave a Reply.