Is lying to yourself really lying?  I mean if you truly believe something about yourself, could it really be wrong?  Growing up things are black and white.  Stealing is bad.  But the older you grow, the greyer things get.  Stealing to feed your hungry family is bad, but not for the same reasons.  It has been a long time that I have been telling myself I am a better person than I might actually be.  I have been telling myself (and you) that we can be the people we want to be.  It’s just not as simple as I hoped.  Being a good person is the most difficult thing I have ever tried to do.  The effort required to make the person you are on the outside into the person you dream to be on the inside is an ongoing struggle.  With obstacles rising up to meet you every single day.  Temptation to be mean.  To be selfish. To be too tired to be the best friend you hoped to be.  To be strong in the face of adversity.  To really stand up for what you believe and what you’ve told yourself to be true.  To gossip.  Being a good person is the most challenging person to be, it's a never-ending battle.  That’s what makes a good person so special. 

    People say that life is short.  And all you have is today.  Though there are times when you feel you’ve lived this day before.  The hours dragging before it's even time to start.  Starting something and sticking to it.  Sounds easy enough.  But I feel like I’ve been waiting to start my whole life; I just didn’t realize that actually doing it- this whole living the good life thing- would be the hardest thing I’ve tried.  It’s exhausting.  High kicking and selfless giving and trying, I mean really trying.  It scares the crap out of me.  Living like you're dying is tiring.  I am tired.  I have been lying to myself, thinking that I was doing this just for me.  And I am not; I am doing this for you mostly.  And also how I feel about me when you’re happy.  The fear of disappointing those who believe in me is greater than this weariness.  I started this brand new me in hopes that I could force myself into believing that it was true. 

   There are days when I can’t bring myself to smile.  Days when life has piled up and things have started falling.  Dropping, despite my efforts to catch and juggle everything.  This blog has benefited from my tenacity. But my body has suffered because of my laziness.  My Hubby doesn’t get the attention he needs, because I am too busy working at a job that doesn’t help me feel good about myself.  My Puppa-Stinkeroo misses me 5 days a week.  My Kitty is back to being aloof- because I am not there to wear her down.  My friends haven’t seen me. My dream is in a holding pattern.  Well, I guess I lied to myself that this steady job was worth all the things I wouldn’t have time for.  The very best thing I found is that I have learned so much about who, how and why I yam what I yam.  I need to have the freedom to live life as the best me.  Stop lying to myself and stop lying.  Period .  Everyone is all to fast to remind me of what a great paycheck it is… Yeah, but c’mon wouldn’t you rather I be a happy broke ass instead of lying to yourself that money is what you want?  It’s never been about the Fame, the Fortune, the Fanfare.  It’s all a lie anyway.  The only thing that I am not lying about is how great I feel trying to be the best I can be, even though it’s the hardest thing I’ve done.  But you know what they say: Fake it ‘til you make it.  And I am gonna make it this time.  And that’s no lie.




Leave a Reply.