I am a 30+ year old.  It took me 3/4 of a year to become alright with that.  Getting older and becoming the person I never thought I'd be old enough to be; for example a Mme, changes things. I don't mean that in the dramatic I am getting old way.  But at 23 I was convinced that I would never actually be mature.  Twenty-three Whoa! was quite frankly a crazy and strange age.  I didn't know who I was or who I really wanted to become.  The only thing I knew was who I didn't want to be, which didn't help. I knew I didn't want to be alone.  And I really didn't want to be scared anymore.  I was very nervous. Nervous to have an opinion. Nervous to be myself. To say what I thought, and have an actual full blown personality and all the great and awful things that go along with it.  Which brings me to where I am now.  Seven years after I was so scared. I am not nearly as scared.  But now I have friends who are going through those 23 year old things. And I see their fears, which scares me all over again.  But Baby, regardless of the things that scare you, you are who you are... And it would take a lot of time, effort and therapy to change those things. 

   Dear 23 year old:
My biggest concern; the way you cover yourself up.  Painting yourself with thick layers of synthetic skin, protecting you from the world outside.  I know you're scared.  I can see it in the measured way you talk.  The ruler leaning against your phrasing.  Taking the wind out of your sails.  You deserve more from yourself, and it makes me sad that you don't think so. If you, a beautiful 23 year old don't feel love for yourself at the prime of your life, when you are the most beautiful, natural and lovely creature, what hope is there for the rest of the world?  Including the 30+year old woman that I am now.  Dear 23 year old, you are so amazing that watching you become a brave and idealistic soul is inspiring the people around you.  Please understand that all the best people you know got their hearts broken by people who pretended to love them. That you're not perfect, and nobody expects that from you, except you.   You are better than the way people treat you.  Your high school friends won't be your only friends forever, and soon you'll get to choose a whole new clique, people who will be your family because they love you, not just because they live in the same school district.  But being a grown up will be really hard for the few first years.  Kitty says: Hang in there baby.

  When I was your age, I was crazy.  I couldn't get a grip on the idea of becoming a "member of society".  Paying taxes and doing things like cleaning my own apartment.  I lived with roommates; which teaches you how to suffer in silence.  Grin and bearing dirty dishes and uncleaned washrooms.  Girls are not easy to understand at the best of times. Twenty-somethings are even worse.  With the climatic apex of living on their own and trying to be grown ups before they really understand who they are...Can I even tell you. I hated myself, I didn't need anybody's help, I covered myself with laquer and expected people to see past it.  But you don't need to hide to be seen.  You are beautiful and I know you can hear me.  Please know when a 30+ says it's going to get easier, that it will.  It doesn't stay crazy for much longer.  Dear 23, you are young and beautiful, things get better and we will welcome you at our 30+ table because you help us to feel like we're helping:) And Sister Sledge, we are family, because you chose me.
momma
6/10/2012 09:43:23 pm

Well said baby - I hope the message gets delivered to the intended. As for the 50+ group lessons continue.

Reply
Not the Momma
6/11/2012 03:43:25 am

Well said. Encouraging the younger is good

Reply
McD4Free
6/11/2012 11:01:46 am

LOVED THIS!! It is soo true!! I wish I could have told my 23yr old some stuff too! Very well written Melissa!

Reply



Leave a Reply.