Holidays are a special time to spend with the ones you love.  But like most people, my family stresses out a bit.  My father transforms from his typical sunny self into Scrooge McDuck (a very special Easter Scrooge).  My father-in-law apologizes for ruining everything.  My brother bitches about how people are faking their niceness.  And my mother and mother-in-law both strive to make everything perfect, which never happens, because none of us are perfect. Hubby and I have decided with all the pressure of making time together special, we  should develop new traditions, based on a simple and clear objective: Let's have fun being together.  
  I want my family, both sides,  to know that I love them winter, spring, fall and summer too, even though it's my busy season.  I don't need the government to give me a day off to remind me that I love them. I just do.  I love them on days when I am happy and even more on days when I'm sad.  I love it when my mother-in-law pocket dials me 3 times in a row, then calls to apologize.  I love my brother- even though for some reason he thinks it's weak to say he loves me- but like the song says, someday it will be too late, so I tell him all the time.  I love my Mama. Full stop. I love my Aunt especially when she's sitting on her deck , suntanned and laughing in the rainbow kisses.  I love my Hubby, when he knows I worked all day in a cold space and that his furnace body is the only thing keeping me from hypothermia. I love my new Cousin who has become more of a sister and my soul's twin.  My family is spread far and wide. And though I am not always around to say it, it's because of them I-yam-what-I-yam.
  So, this holiday season I would like to say thank you Family.  You're weird and wonderful and full of surprises.  I love you all so very much, you have to know that... You built my sense of humour.  You encouraged me reach for the things I want.  You proved that you are strong enough to be who you are, and also tough enough to take the heat for it.  All told, let's make a pact to stick together and eat some great food and wear our fancy Easter bonnets, 'cuz you know our family- we look great in hats.
Joanne Rutherford
4/5/2012 03:08:38 am

Hey Melissa,

Well said, sweets! Happy Easter...

Joanne
xo

Reply
Amber
4/5/2012 03:59:59 pm

1. Your father's typical sunny self?
2. I thought your body was the furnace?
3. Tell me there's a frilly, pastel-coloured Easter dress to go with that bonnet!

xo

Reply
mary
4/6/2012 03:15:02 am

Happy Easter - the sunny disposition is driving me to make happy day

Reply



Leave a Reply.