My face needs a break. This realization was quick and blemished. I've loved the same products for so long.  But when BFF brought out her new cleanser, smelling of lemongrass and spring water; I was jealous.  I have been using the same 12 step program for the last 5 years. 

   People have asked me how I manage to do all 12 steps everyday.  The reply?  Reverse packing it into the cabinet, so I have to move all 12 steps to get to step one. And I know that I have a very special case of OCD because if I have to touch it to move it, I will use it. It's there, paid for. It's got to be used up before I can buy something new. It's the rule in my house. It applies to everything, except for a few things. 

   There is something so predictable about my love for shoes.  Something so Muriel's Wedding.  I love My shoes. But there are shoes in every doorway. Hanging in mock organization. Hiding under the bed. In boxes stacked inside suitcases. The Comissioner hates it. *throat clear*game systems. To the uninformed observer it may seem like overkill but there are shoes for every occasion.  I have costume boots and flimsy sandals. Green and brown and suede.  Shoes for dancing. And peep toes fancies. How could I get rid of any of them:$ I might need them any day now.

    Another jam packed buried treasure.  My make up box. Every shade of the rainbow a piece from a different Mac collection. The shade variations and the exclusive colours tickling my fancy.  Painting my face and changing my story.  I am addicted to green mascara from the Amazon. And my sleepy time rose water nigh-night cream, a dreamy pre-bed ritual. Sephora calls to me like a siren in an otherwise ill fitting mall.  Floating on a sea of serums and balms, gels and oils.  Longing for the spice of life. Though my 12 steps remain the same.

   With my tight fisted-ness and ability to deny myself the pleasure of shiny and new; I am boldy marching toward a new regime... Well, skincare regime. I am freaking psyched for the bright smelling clean feeling of brand spanking new!  Having completed my 12 step program.  One out, one in.  So, without any of the potential hoarding episode my other collections are becoming, I will start anew. With that in mind this holiday season I will be giving bottles of wine wrapped in boots and makeup painted greeting cards.  That doesn't sound sanitary...but it does sound Eco-nomical.

Dawn
11/22/2012 02:43:55 pm

FYI - I've been using Eclos (plant-based beauty) for a few months and love it. You can get it at Shoppers (on sale now!) and they even have a trial package with all of the must haves: face wash, face serum, scrub, mask, eye cream and face cream - all age defying, all delicious smelling. Just in case you wanna try...

xoxoxoxoxoxoox

Reply



Leave a Reply.