It has been a week since the move. A glorious, spacious, tiring and amazing week.  This week was filled with the unrecognized pang of separation anxiety. In my 5 years of being with Hubby, I have never been more than a room away from him.  Now, when I am talking to him from the Bedroom (oh, just listen to that newly added word to my vocabulary) he doesn't hear me. Or at least says he doesn't.   Our new place rocks for the following reasons:

1. A couch- this 6.5 foot raft floating in our living room has been slept and snuggled on by all 4 members of this family without squabbling.  We now have our favourite seats, another new experience.  Also this couch actually works, when sitting on it you want to spill your guts (therapy style) which is perfect for blogging.

2. Closet(s)- There is a giant closet in our Bedroom (there's that word again:)) and in the hall a 2nd closet, wait, condos can have more than one closet? Yes! yes they can.  And I have 2. Finally the segration of indoor and outdoor clothes, Mr. Rogers would be proud.

3. The epic hallway. I mean, right now it's jammed with things that need to go down to the storage unit, but it's still there a long hallway that muffles the sound of our washer and dryer.

4. Washer and dryer... Thank Rod. Is there more I can say? A washer with enough capacity to hold 2 hoodies, 2 pairs of jeans, 3 pairs of socks and my overflowing gratitude. Phew, what was 6 loads of 3 hours is now 1 load of 20 mins!!! I am getting my life back. Sweet, sweet Freedom.  The dryer is quiet and has the sucking power of a tropical storm, dehairing my clothes and restoring a blanket to the grey it started as, instead of the puppy colour it had become.

5. New wedding gifts: last year hubby and I got married, but since we were in such a teeny tiny space, none of our gifts would fit.  And I was not going to let those new, shiny presents touch the disaster we came from.  But now... oh now, my dishes match and stack easily, my pans don't shed teflon into dinner and I don't make a mess bigger by using a dish towel. It's amazer-beams.  Having nice things actually makes you nicer to them. This is the first time I've ever felt that.  And I am so grateful.

6.  Anti-slam cupboards and drawers. For 2 clutzy folks. That's self explanatory.

7. Picking new places for things to go.  I have been living away from home for almost 11 years *insert age revelation cringe, but this is the first time I felt like I was building a home.  It's a strange feeling to know that I get to pick how this place looks and feels, and what people see and what's hidden.  I can't believe how fun this game is.  

8. My new dance yourself skinny dance floor- with surround sound, refreshment bar and no noise complaints, yet.  Having more than a bedroom means I can put my music on and dance, wait, not dance- DANCE!!!!  We are 3 months into this year and the 2012 Dance-yourself-Skinny mix is coming along nicely. You will be alerted when that album drops.

9. My puppa barked here for the first time. Doesn't sound like a big thing or even a good thing and though it scared me and hubby, it is great.  That means that my co-dependent puppa-roo is starting to feel like this is a home she needs to protect.  Which means that even though she was scared and confused, she is settling in.  

10.  Miss Lucy has perched herself peacefully on everything at least once. She is confident to roam around without Jilly the beast chasing her back into the bathtub. Personalities have space to grow here and she's stretched out in every sun spot or curled up in your seat, because it's still warm.   

11, 12, 13 & 14.  This is my home.  It didn't take long.  That's my favourite thing.  People can feel it when they walk in, it smells like home, it has all the conveniences of home.  It welcomes you, because we're so happy.  It has already become a favourite gathering place for friends.  A home.

  As for my worries about the things I'd miss, my list of new things I love is way bigger.  I can still see the CN tower every walk with Jilly, I brew my own Douche bag drink 5 out of 7 days a week.  But now there is a jumping pad, fountain and astroturf playground for grown ups and then there is the fun and though it's not cool to call it fabulous, it is fabulous Queen street atmosphere.  I am happy here.  And every married man knows, happy wife, happy life- at least that's what they say.  I like to think happy life-happy life, but I guess that's not as snappy:)
mary
3/23/2012 11:26:21 am

Happy life, happy man and wife

Reply
Cathy
3/26/2012 03:42:04 am

So Happy Happy for you...it sounds divine!
xox Cathy

Reply



Leave a Reply.