With my 5 month summer standing contract drawing to a close, I thought it pertinent to explore my employment history. I have always been highly employable.  I have been a secretary, a baker, a masseuse, a mortgage sales girl, an event coordinator, a retail therapist, an actor, a marketing rep and promoter, a coach and just all around glad hander.  You name it I have tried my hand at it.  And even if I didn't  like the company or my job or my boss or all of the above; I always gave one hundred and ten percent.  But 110% at $8.50 an hour doesn't work out to a whole lot in the end.  Also my bosses have always loved me; with the exception of two of the craziest most hurtful women I have ever met.   They were practically perfect in every evil way. Congratulations! It's tough to be the best at being the worst. 

 In my entire life I've only been fired from two jobs- Job 1- My boss was one of the previously mentioned crazies and I truly believe I was fired because of my great performance and her inability to follow through with commissions promised. The second was as a teenager I was denied my Bronze cross, though not a job exactly it would have led to my becoming a lifeguard, getting a wicked tan and ultimately getting a free ride at Penn State as a high-diver and all this because I wasn't serious enough... Chaw. Please. Like anyone has ever taken the Hoff seriously. 

 Having a steady job can be great. That solid stream of income. The sense of community you build with your coworkers. It's nice. though doing something you don't love can be hard on you...but as an Optimism Expertise, I decided to take what I could from the experience and create my ideal job position.  

The dream job description:
   A job that has me traveling. Travel can be continental as well as global and even astrological.  Going to strange places for interesting reasons. A semi-full-time position attending fun events to promote having a great time. Where I talk to media about something really cool that gets people excited. And inspires them to start and keep doing something.  I want to meet with people and discuss fascinating new ideas about global issues and I want to host really great events. I want to ambassador something. Something special. I don't think that's asking for much. I am free to start as early as Monday.  Is there an opening in that department? 

P.S. Is it weird that I didn't even quote salary? I guess a job you love is its own payment. Ha!




Leave a Reply.