Last night after attending a sketch comedy show, I became the crazy stalker person I am deep inside. With all the tell-tale signs. The tweeting and Facebook posts to people, giving them props, and using inside jokes...but here's where it really gets weird.  I made a play for the group.  I tried to convince them I would be an asset to their already very talented team.  Like I have anything to offer.  I write down my slightly off centre remarks at a computer with no one to judge them...But I think I miss the judgement- at least I miss the feeling of saying you can't please everyone.  And Sketch comedy is about not pleasing anyone but yourself. It's about writing something you think is funny and showing people who usually think you're funny and laughing together.  There's no money in it. There is only fun.  So I decided I want to have more fun, I am, against my better judgement I am going to start doing more comedy again.  Now I know it's way, Way easier to read this from the comfort of your own home, but you should come too, I am going to take this show on the road.  I just need a WIFI connection.  SOooo maybe I'll see you in the great wide beyond very very soon.  That is if this sketch troupe doesn't need a blonde, creepy, stalker-type in their upcoming show.  Stay tuned fo'dat.

  Also, today was neato, I got to watch clowns at work.  And I don't mean the construction workers outside my door.*insert wink/nudge A friend of mine had a great audition opportunity, but this meant the ticket she bought needed a taker.  So I took.  An audience of 100 people and I watched as Philippe Gaulier a french master in La Jeu and Clown, toiled and teased and coerced people into being their nastiest, sexiest, niftiest or nicest selves.  It truly is interesting to watch how capable some are and how natural the act of buffoon-ery comes to them...Something special happens when you put on a red nose.  All the social stigmas of what's acceptable fly out the window. You're encouraged to take advantage of your faults and follies.  It is expected that you will walk with vim and vigor- all clowns big and small.  I think that being able to hide behind a red nose or funny hat or big shoes is a great way to express yourself. And I might not be too far off already, how would you feel about that?  I am sure Hubby would love it.
Shawn
4/13/2012 09:40:47 am

You already have the goofy hat, oversized glasses and multiple pairs of shoes that don't fit. Just think how much money you'll save on your costume!

Reply



Leave a Reply.