It's been a few months since I wrote an ode to earhairs.   It's sad but I long for the mysterious intrigue of earhairs. A tickly, thickly curling wisp that flutters in the wind. It's hooked and I can't stop starring! Of course, there have been a few memorable chin hairs and a mole hair or two, but nothing worth a dedicated blog to my outspoken affection for such furry occurrences.  I have been trying to rise above the physical foibles of those around me. But what is it they say about the best laid plans? 

   Upon returning to my regular cop shop gig I have seen a few wily whiskers, but have taken the high road- for the most part. Ignoring a hair collar sticking out above shirt necklines, and avoiding eye contact with caterpillar brows. Honest I was trying to be good.  Until yesterday, I discovered a giant ear hair...you will never guess where.   In MY own EAR. I couldn't believe it. It was awful.  Possessed by a tickle I felt in my ear canal.  A creepy crawling, fluttering feeling that I couldn't shake. Literally I couldn't shake it off.  Heading to the loo, I thought I would discreetly pull all the hairs from both ears, you know, all those tiny fine hairs that cover a human.  The fuzz that reminds us we're not too far from being the animals we were.  And trust me if I'd had a razor I would've shaved myself from the eyebrows down! Getting to the washroom I studied, inspected, looked and leered at my ears- seeing nothing, but I knew it was there.  I started plucking blindly.  Oh did I mention that I carry tweezers with me? Cuz, yeah I do. Everywhere I go, just in case.  That's when it happened. The tweezers clamped down on something.  And like deep sea fishing, it was a struggle to reel that hair in- or out as the case may be.  When I finally triumphed over my well rooted foe, I was .5lbs lighter and my hearing had amplified 4 fold. How long could it have been growing there? As far as I am concerned- any length of time is too long.  Now, I must turn my obsession inward, I have become my own earhair-enemy. 

  But it could have been worse, I guess.   The group I associate with at work are a mature crowd.  Their eyesight isn't like use-ta-be and most have earhairs of their own, earhairs they can be proud of. So, I figure as long as I can still see, feel and pluck my own unruly rogue hairs I am ahead of the social grooming curve.  But maybe we could all use a little help from our friends. One of my colleagues has asked for a lady's agreement. Using my 20/20 vision I am to alert him to any strays I may spy...though to prevent hurt feelings I have been collecting a few hairs to alert him of all at once, instead of a daily hair check-in.  It's better for us both that way. I get to marvel at those wiry wonders for a few more days, and he gets to think his super power is growing multiple magnanimous hairs in an afternoon. So my fair earhairs- it's been a while since we wrote, but you are a familiar friend. Honestly though, I could do without you whispering in my ear. Literally.

The Commissioner
11/2/2012 12:34:03 am

If you pluck one, three more grow back. Good luck with that.

Reply



Leave a Reply.