The Great Canadian Entrepreneur: a species indigenous to the northernly half of the north american continent.  Though many species appear in southern regions, they tend to be a much heartier and parasitic breed.  I was raised by a pack of Great Canadian Entrepreneurs, making me an Entre-thusiast.  I am a big fan of people who've realized that what they have to offer is different and special and like Frank Sinatra, they're doing it their way.  Living in a city as diverse as Toronto allows people to take the plunge, crossing fingers for at least a slice of the widely variant market, hoping for a group of dedicated followers.  People who like you.  Like what you do.  And like the way you do it.  In smaller markets the game has different rules.  

  I grew up in a small town.  Well, not small for a town, but not a wide market.  Not a wide cross-section of opinions.  And really only 1 degree of separation between people. If I don't know you, there is at least one person I know who does.  Side note: Small towns were the original FaceBook. My Papa B is an Entrepreneur.  He has been for all the jobs I can remember, except the middle one he took cuz it was too good an offer to turn down.  Though in hindsight, it was his worst and grumpiest and most awful time, and if you know my Papa B, that's saying a lot.  He does not work well for others.  Here we go again genetics.  On every report card ever sent home for signing: "Melicious has trouble taking direction."  Not a great quality in an actor, but the best quality in an entrepreneur. My Town Councillor Momma is a self starter married to an Entrepreneur.  Which isn't much different.  Having owned several at home businesses she joined my Papa B's company almost 15 years ago.  Being the motivated lady she is, she is constantly morphing to fit the needs of her clients and anticipate their future goals.  She's a great role model to teach a blossoming actor about being a chameleon. Making me an even Steven.

   Entrepreneurs are a rare breed.  A group of people who made it their business to do it well or at least differently.  People who's job was created for them.  Tailor made to fit their specs.  What's the hardest part about being your own boss? Making your employee -yourself- accountable.   Making sure they get to work on time.  Finish their projects in a timely manner. Trying to inspire your employee to strive for something better.  And brainstorming sessions can be a little lonely.  But there's no greater feeling than a job well done.  A job that you are responsible for.  A job that you thought up, worked through and completed.  You did it.  It's on you if it fails, but the upside is that I am not dumb enough to let anything fail, if I can help it.  Plus I think my boss is pretty great.
Not the Momma
10/3/2012 05:41:09 am

Well said, and you do take after your Momma!

Reply



Leave a Reply.