This week was a banner hanging record breaking, past the point of no return, let's get ready to rumble type week.  As my adventures in adulthood continue; finance became priority # 1 on the never ending list, with laundry holding steady at #8.  In the same week I was offered a crazy amount of credit, but none of it could be used for anything helpful; like a mortgage.  Though somehow they'd be fine if I wanted to buy a boat.  The very next letter I opened was a fine and a serious scolding for not paying enough to the government. Now wouldn't it be great if one group spoke to the other? One supporting my spending habits, the other keeping them in line.

  If we go back to where all this finance business began for me. It started in post secondary school. Everywhere you turn there's another credit card company offering you the world via a tiny-fit in your wallet-easy, breezy shiny plastic card. What's a bright eyed optimistic theatre student to do? Soo...you sign up and go out! And out! And out! Because you only have to pay the minimum; you go out a lot.  But those little minimums grow, and that balance you were carrying; starts getting big and heavy fast! Suddenly all you have is balance owing...

  Well, you grow up. Decide to pay a school to teach you. The government gives you 15% of zero as OSAP help. Then for the next 130 months you have to pay them back but most of that is interest. Then when you actually start making the money to pay them back, you have to pay the government for getting the job with the paycheck you were working towards. Letting you sit there for a year, unknowingly accruing another kind of interest. Then the government pipes up again with a wage change. You're held captive by being a good person. Because you want to keep flying below the radar, it's only a matter of time until they catch up to all the really bad stuff you've been doing.  So, you might as well pay taxes and keep your chin up.

   With the government I have to pay off last year, with this year's money. Because this year's money went into the wrong account and the many branches, no, tentacles of the CRA don't speak to each other. Les sigh. So, I am paying it off as go. The problem? I am making more money this year... Oh oh.  So I need to save twice the amount! And wait the twelve billion years it takes to organize any 'oversight' on their part. But Kevin-forbid you be late- for that you'll have to pay.

   It's a constant battle for good and evil. Well, make that evil and evil. Save me Wealthy Barber, I need some money advice. To pay anything online it costs me 1.50 or .57 cents +a stamp+ a chequing fee to mail it. It's a very complex system of cheques and balances. Two distinctly different bodies, struggling to get ahead in business. It amazes me that the world has come to such a money controlled crossroads with the important things  in life quickly disappearing from sight in the rearview mirror. Though I guess I  would feel better about it if that mirror was attached to my new boat.

BFF
7/12/2012 06:57:05 pm

Oh my God! Buy that boat! I have the perfect Michael Kors nautical outfit to wear on it. I'll just need to increase my credit limit first. :/

Reply
Cathy Scott
7/13/2012 03:09:04 am

Pretty sure Wayne has a copy of the Wealthy Barber if you want to borrow it...hehee


Cathy :)

Reply



Leave a Reply.