Alrighty, it's that time of the year again.  The time when the government gives you, (or your spouse) a bit of money to say: Hey, thanks for giving us money all year and to divert us from what's about to happen.  TAXES....taxes.  As a "self-employed performer" who must collect her HST from each "employer" or "client" tax time for me can be stressful, should I stay or should I owe? And here's the kicker I don't understand taxes and receipt counting and totals and TFS accounts and RRSPs, GICs, UFOs etc.  I don't get it.  Why are there so many lines and factors? The cheat sheet shorthand guide is ten million pages thick, and you can file online but you have to print out all ten million pages too, and then keep it for 8 years? Oh, and if you're a canadian citizen, but you don't live here, you pay our taxes and you pay  in your current country?  Hello, help, I raise my hand meekly to ask a question. How does property tax work? Where is the beef? Is it possible for a person who doesn't work at a government  or accounting office to understand these things? Why are they so complicated?  Wouldn't it be better if everyone could understand? Unless, it's just me. In which case I say play through sir, and I tip my hat to you. Oh, and I don't understand those HRBlock commercials, but they're memorable, so I guess we can consider it mission: accomplished.
  My loving Hubby is a shoe box man. Every receipt goes into a box, which stays somewhat chronological but that is the only things organized about them.  I on the other hand, have been trying, for the last 8 years, not to do that.  Though around Sept I usually forget and end up organizing 4 months the night before I drop them of with Alice the accountant.  Alice is smart as a whip and a breeze to be around with a comforting rainforest slideshow screen saver.  The perfect accountant.  The last one was a slightly sticky looking bald man in a stale office that had a squeaky door and exposed ceilings that looked saggy and spongey.  As for Hubby and I this year we will be filing as husband and wife for the very first time.  I couldn't be happier for Tax Season:) Happy taxing!



Leave a Reply.