Dear Mean People,
    I think you know who you are. Why must you be so mean?  
Also, if you fall into any of the following categories please consider yourself addressed: Judgemental, Grumpy, Pessimistic, Rude, Impatient, Disrespectful and Intolerante People.  It has come to my attention that you are the worst.  I am talking to the people who don't thank strangers for holding the door.  A smile is not a target.  Just because I am laughing doesn't mean I am laughing at you. It wouldn't kill you to share the sidewalk a little.  The poop your dog makes is something you should pick up.  Elevators are not a personal toot shack.  Get your fingers out of your nose and get underwear that doesn't bury itself so deep in your bum crack.  Which isn't really mean, it's just gross. But still.
  The Canadian national average hovers at Pleasant, and I am alright with that- but if your group could make a conserted effort we could raise it!  We really could.  Being a nice person is not difficult for the rest of us. We live in Canada, a wonderfully diverse and sympathetic country.  It's pretty darn great.  A country full of apologies and those saying it have nothing to be sorry for.  It sucks that nice people are nice to mean people, even though they're not nice back.  I would never treat you that way, which I guess is why I am the nice one and you're not. 

Signed,
The Unhappy Doormat



Dear Nice People,
   Please, please, please never give up on being nice.  I know that sometimes the world can get you down.  I know it's gray outside and being sunny when it isn't can be hard.  You can be brave.  You can be the better person. Please keep opening doors for people.  I will thank you.  Please tell me if I've dropped something.  I will thank you.  Help an old lady with her walker onto the streetcar or a young mother with a stroller off.  Hopefully, they will thank you.  If we can stay strong together we have a better chance of not feeling so bad when the Meanies don't do the things Nice people hope they will.  After a Rude Meanie tries to ruin your day, look around for a Nicey-nice, they're never too far away and share a secret smile. A knowing wink to the fact that things will get better.    
   If we can just keep trying to help the Meanies see that it takes so much more energy to be mean, maybe they'll stop.  Now, change like that doesn't happen over night but it can happen.  All those Sunday night classic movies and after-school specials can't be wrong.  It's gotta be true that sometimes the Nice Guy does finish first, even if it is just a Hallmark moment.  I am going to keep hoping for a theme song, a ray of sunshine and a miraculous turning of the tables.  Not so that I can be mean to the Meanies, but so that the Meanies can see how much more fun it is on this side of the net.  
  As for you Niceys, I am looking forward to seeing you at the next meeting of the Canadian branch of the #1 Awesome Sauce Club.  When I hope to pass a jolly new bi-law: Singing, not just for showers anymore.  Until then keep your chin up little birds.  Those mean old winds are strong, but this flight is a nice one.

Yours in Kindness,
The World's Nicest *itch
Not the Momma
10/10/2012 11:57:48 pm

Its that 90/ 10. The knuckle draggers seem to just multiply faster. Keep the faith snd say thank you to those whom you hold the door for. They hate sarcasm!

Reply



Leave a Reply.