Procrastination, complacency and a short attention span.  Have you ever met someone who just wasn't quite reaching their potential? Someone with great ideas and no follow through.  Maybe a talented loved one who won't take a chance on themselves. The uncertified baby yoga instructor who doesn't want to spend the time for certification.  A close friend who's holding themselves back from the successes they could attain.  The biggest difference between success and complacency is actually doing it.  And the hardest part of doing anything? Is doing it.  It's no accident that some people succeed, contrarywise, it's no coincidence that others fail.

   My fear of failing myself (or the standard to which I hold myself)  has garnered me a semi popular blog, super amazing awesome wicked friends, a matching set of under eye baggage, a loving Hubby, a pair of saddle bags and the satisfaction of a job done- not always particulairly well, but I am completing my tasks and I am continuously challenging myself.  With persistent motivation, I am like a dog with a blog.  I have recognized how varied and difficult my goals are and I am confident that my stamina will be recognized- fingers crossed. Even if it is just by my Momma.  I've decided that I am unhappy being anything less than the person I want people to see me as.  Keeping it together is hard work, I am tired, but everything, good or bad, comes at a price.

   Working in an artistic arena I have had oppurtunity to meet all types of creative people.   Key root of the word being create.  But within the ranks of the creative there are people who sabotage themselves and others, for fear they will be left behind.  Writers who've never reached a climax. Dancers who don't stretch themselves. People who fall short of their potential.  Playing it safe because the fear of failing is more powerful than the possiblity of success. In my endeavors I have made an agreement with myself that I won't  be 'a day late and dollar short' to my own life.  

   So, here's my challenge to you cyber folks. Encourage all those under-estimaters to a challenge themselves.  Then challenge yourself!  Make a plan. A marking post to measure yourself by.  It's amazing how achievable dreams become when you break them down into bite sizes and add a dash of healthy competition. Today is the perfect day to be brave, be bold. Take your dreams by the procrastinators and hold on tight for a wild ride.  Instead of complacency, how about y'all come play with me!   I can probably pack your things in my under eye baggage:)

Rachel White
10/16/2012 03:43:46 am

Ya world! Get off your ass and do something! :/

Reply



Leave a Reply.