Please find attached 2 relatively related rants:
 
Rant the First
    Hubby and I are chronic renters.  We prefer small cozy city living.  Snuggled up in tight quarters. Small spaces but with great windows that on a clear night can see all the way to Bloor St.   But to make way for progress our panoramic view is quickly depleting.  It is a sad day for open space loving small townies like us.  I liked the view from here. It's a great location... Location, location.  Real Estate has never been my forte.  It sounds really interesting at first until I realize the stories I hear about these amazing gems with nob and tube aren't in my future.  I don't want a fixer upper in the city that's been lived in by 15 different people and none of them cared.  Bleached and barnacled and tired from city living.  It's not my cup of T.o.  There is a dream though, a teeny little quiet dream.  The wish is to have a house that's been in someone's family for generations and, this is silly; it's been deemed historically significant.  Our house would be a part of the history of something bigger.  Our very very very fine house, would have 2 cats in the yard. A story to tell.  A song to sing.  Our house would have personality.  The stairs would creak and the wind might whisper on occasion but it would hold the secrets of history.  Of course, it would be a pain to maintain all the structural integrity in accordance with the local historical society bi-laws; a challenge Future Me willingly accepts.  But for now we live in a city shoe box, without a story.  And the wide screen we were watching life on is shrinking.  I guess I'll really have to go outside.




Rant the Second
   The giant hole that is my backyard is a muddy disaster.  Clay and gravel and slick squishy mud coat my pathway home.  Covering my boots and imbedding itself in my tread.  Stomping and dragging my feet the whole way.  Trying to shake off the filth.  When I do get inside the view is like an exposed root after the tooth has been ripped out.  The bottom which is almost 4 stories down is dotted with tents to protect the men working in these conditions.  Giant flood lights click on at sunset and push the crew to quitting time.  The holes have been drilled, the rebar impacted.  Cranes have been brought in to move the cranes in.  The skeleton structures floating over head.  Suspended and riveted.  They are sleeping giants.   Not quite ready for action.  But I can hear them practicing their shriek, stretching for the long job ahead.  I get why people want to live in the city.  I mean obviously I do, it's just that how many more of us does there need to be? In such tight quarters and with all this mud and dog pooh, you can't ever wear nice shoes.  Fancy city night living shoes.  Shoes you hoped to look nice in, ensemble shoes.  Been a long time since my feet were fancied up.  Also down side, there is a lot of stomping in my building.  Mud clots dot the hallway carpets.  But winter is coming.  The anticipation of frozen clay is killing me.  Though, I don't think it will be a respite.  By the time it gets cold enough to freeze everything's gross and soggy anyway.  The once dirty route now becoming treacherous. It will be a slippery layer of icing on top of the so-hard-it-hurts-to-fall when you fall on it permafrost.  (Notice I said when.  I accept I will fall.  It's slippery)  At least while I am hibernating this winter, trying to pick the pooh out of my boot tread, I can watch the cranes spin and twill and finally grow up to be elevators.  A dirty festering hole like that? The dentist would recommend a filling, at least 9 out of 10 of them would.



Leave a Reply.