Baby steps, taking your time and half measures-  I can't say I'm a fan.  I have been told once or twice *insert throat clear* I mean a lot, that I put too much pressure on myself.  Expecting to achieve life long dreams in dog years.  C'mon Melicious get it together! Yesterday's appearance on a National morning show was exhilarating.  Being invited to a movie premiere, picked up at the Breaking Dawn (Twilight reference) in a schmancy car and broadcasting my smile across the country was amazing.  So, why, as soon as I finished did I feel like I was under-achieiving?  Why couldn't I just allow myself one day of gratitude and celebration?  Oh, that's right, because I put a lot of pressure on myself and never quite live up to my own insanely high standards.

  There are so very many reasons that I should celebrate.  I have a loving Hubby, a great group of friends-that I don't see often enough-wicked family, a steady job, a few great ideas and my health.  Plus the Puppa tink and Bucy goose, which goes without saying.  So, why is it I can't just be happy with what I've got?  There is a theory floating around that it may be genetic.  Allow me to elaborate:  My Momma opened a retail store this past week, before finishing her current term as Councillor, while still working a full time job.  My Papa B who builds bathrooms on the weekend, while digging up the front and side yard and runs a company with 5 fulltime staff.  Of these lists I have also left off their volunteer habits, their assorted groups and clubs, oh yeah and sleeping/eating- a highly undervalued commodity in our household.   I am not blaming them- it's better than being raised by some no-good-lay-abouts with a reputation for no-good!  But watching them strive to better themselves has challenged me to do the same.  Only worse, because I do it Artistically.  

  While attending performing arts school I learned to express myself.  To climb every mountain and dream the impossible dream.  Well, here's a surprise, artists don't get paid much, so to supplement my pro-bono art, I work really hard at other things.  But this leaves me tired and uninspired...and a bit pouty. My big fat bottom lip hanging out just waiting for a bird to perch.  Don't get me wrong. I am of course grateful for all I have, I just thought I would be further along on this journey.  Closer to having a vacation.  Closer to finishing my book.  Closer to being thin.  And just closer to not being so far away from my-sometimes unrealistic- goals.  Here's the thing, I know that half the fun is getting there, I just wish the directions were a little more clear.  Though, I guess I am to blame for that too, as I keep changing the destination...but that's a story for another time.  
Lindsay
11/15/2012 09:12:03 pm

One of my favourites!

Reply
Sister Wife
11/16/2012 05:59:32 am

If you're trying so hard to better yourself that it leaves you feeling tired, uninspired and pouty, aren't you defeating the purpose?

High expectations can be positive because they encourage you to push the envelope. But they can also be counterproductive because you end up shaming yourself and others for 'failing' when really, we're all just human beings fighting our own battles.

Carpe diem, my dear. And enjoy each one cause it could be your last.

Reply
MeliciousManners
11/16/2012 06:20:58 am

This sounds like something my BFF would say.

Reply



Leave a Reply.