This past week when I received my mail, there was an ominous brown envelope with a bank logo in the corner.  Usually, when I get one of these letters it is the bank congratulating me on my increased line of credit (which I need like a hole in the head), but this time.... Oh this time.  This letter, with enclosed pamphlet details exactly how my bank fees are increasing.  INCREASING? I am already paying $12.95 a month for the ability to use a debit card and for the bank to "take care" of my money.  Money which they put on hold and prevent me from getting at whenever I want.  They are also closing branches and limiting access to ATMs.  Now, that seems nutty- raising fees and lowering expectations.  C'mon! I am confused to say the least, where is all that extra money going? If banks are closing to limit costs, why do we need to raise the fees?

  I really don't want to increase what I am paying the bank now.  How can a business gamble with my money, keep the winnings and have the audacity to charge more?  These banks are being selfish.  When I was growing up, my Momma was adement about sharing.  Or at least giving credit where it's due.  It would be great if the banks rewarded us for being good customers, with something usable like, ummm, money.  If money is a concept created by banks to establish financial hierarchy, they should be doing more to help the largest demographic- the bottom.  How about a matching fund?  For every dollar you save with the bank, they donate 10 cents?  Or if your account has less than 20 transactions you get a money order that you can put towards a fun new pair of shoes.  How about a fund that will donate monthly if you have a direct withdrawal with a registered charity.  There are many ways to make the members of a bank swallow the new fees easier.  How about this?  The bank knowing your spending habits automatically gives you the account best suited for you, instead of wrestling with a bank employee to get it.  It's not hard to be a better business, just ask your local BIA.
 
  Can we create a better system? It seems like the best option for a broke ass like me, would be to go back to the barter system.  I will give you a manicure and a massage for my groceries? Would that work?
If I came over and cleaned your house would you chauffer me around? Are there any other options? What is going to happen to the world if these bank systems need to be bailed out, and there is no money to do it?  It seems to me that the best option is stuffing a coffee can full of $50 dollar bills and waiting for a rainy day. Though I think if it starts to look stormy I will just blow it all on rubber boots and call it square.
Momma
4/30/2012 01:44:58 am

you should send this one to the editor of the globe and mail... FEES are TOO HIGH!!! After all the banks only made millions in profit last year...

Reply
Amber
4/30/2012 04:12:46 am

I'll take a manicure and a massage to chauffeur your ass around.

There. It's working already.

Reply
Catherine
4/30/2012 10:58:23 am

Yes this is a fabulous one Melissa! A great read and it was just the sort of writing readers or listeners would love to hear. Send it in or have you thought of podcasting too? Keep up the fabulous commentary. As a side note when I lived in England I didn't pay bank fees as it was illegal for the bank to charge you fees well it was ten years ago I don't know about now. They also only charge your cell phone for outgoing calls only. Incoming are free! Maybe we can adopt them?

Reply



Leave a Reply.