Dear Teenage Angst,
    First and foremost I want you to know I love you. I may not always like you but I do love you. There are so many things I want you to know.  Like once upon a time long, long ago, I was your age. Believe it or not, but I was. Things were different then. I made mix tapes and passed notes that would go on for days. I lived in a small town, where everyone knew my beeswax.  We didn't have FB. I took keyboarding class on a typewriter for crying out loud. Things have chaged, and I know that, but the more things change the more they stay the same.  There are always going to be people who are mean.  There will always be people who are different. 


   Being in highschool stinks. All those hormones flying around. Teenagers unable to express themselves in a clear and direct manner. Which often means they will lash out and hurt each other because they don't know any other way.  Somedays it will feel like you're doing everything wrong.  But here's what you should remember. You're so lucky to be loved.  Lucky to be alive and lucky to live here. Things may seem hard, and somedays they will be, but trust me when I tell you. The adult you want to become is inside of you. Waiting for their chance to grow up.  This is not an order for you to stop being a kid. Heck, I am still a kid.  This is the suggestion to step back, and really look at the world around you.  The people you've got. The way you live your life. Are you the person you hope to be? The person you want the world to see? Perhaps instead of complaining about the things that are wrong with the world; you suggest ways to change it.  Be the change you want to see in the world. Maybe you could spend some time helping others, like your mother, your father, your neighbour or dare I say it your little brother. 

 
   There is a whole wide world out there. And soon you will be sent out into it to fend for yourself.  Trusted with the information you've gathered to make your own way. I know you can do it, people less brave than you have, and they seem, well, alright. Angst, we know that under all those wacky teenage emotions, the sweet child we all want to take care of is still there.  But you make it tough for people to love you. And really, that's all we've ever wanted to do.

Yours Meliciously,
  The Adults in your Life 

P.S. I have a few tricks for dealing with tough people, when you finally admit you don't know everything.

Momma
11/26/2012 08:25:17 pm

Thank you - so true to life, so hard to see when you are in the forest!

Reply



Leave a Reply.