Extra! Extra! I have a lip zit. I have a sore and inflamed eruption on my upper lip- right on cupids bow. The top part of my lip is swollen; Angelina Jolie swollen, for crying out loud.  I work in a beauty oriented business and every time I speak, all I am reminded of is this unsightly puss bump growing by the minute.  What a disaster. 

  This lip zit is all I can think about. Being my skin obsessed-self, I want so badly to pop it. I stare at it in every reflective surface.  I want to squeeze the daylights/dickens out of it.  But I won't- squeezing will set me back 3 weeks of repair time, I don't have that kind of time to waste.  When I got home the night I felt it creeping in, I tried everything to rid myself of this unsightly 2nd head.  Hot compress, stretching, prodding it, exfoliation, nothing worked.  Damnber suggested a pin- which makes me think of rampent infection and badly done at home ear piercing.  I have yet -in all my pimple experience- to find a simple, no mess GIANT zit cure. I've tried a medicated wash, which burned my eyes and left my skin palmolive clean; great for hands, not face.  For a while I tried toothpaste, which dried out the core, but also peeled off 5 layers of the surrounding skin.  In a new wave I thought perhaps a spring water spritzer might help- refreshing, but ultimately useless. 

  Pimples are something that personality can apparently out-shine and over-shadow (puns intended).  The worst/best part is that my co-workers are pretending they can't see it.  In my mind, they've had a secret pre-work meeting to discuss and laugh at my herpes looking mouth wound, you know, get it out of their system.  All those I've asked about it's magnitude reply with: "I didn't even notice it actually."  Well, that's kind, but I noticed it.  I will also probably notice yours, when you get one... That being said, I will now be more supportive of people who have huge and very ugly but temporary mars on their typically fine faces. It's not a mountain, it's a mole...well it's a zit actually, but it's not that bad...If you can stop starring at it.




Leave a Reply.